Vinales and Rossi form a Monster Yamaha one-two during opening practice for the second consecutive MotoGP event at Jerez, with rookie star Binder in third.

Binder's KTM team-mate Espargaro led for most of the session, while not all riders tried for a time attack at the end.

After missing last weekend's race through injury, Crutchlow and Rins both returned to action this morning.

The Englishman required surgery for a broken scaphoid bone in his left wrist after falling in warm-up, while Rins dislocated and fractured his right shoulder in qualifying.

Reigning MotoGP champion Marc Marquez broke his right arm in Sunday's race but will attempt a shock return on Saturday morning, just four days after surgery to plate the fracture.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Andalucia MotoGP - Free Practice (1) Results
1Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'37.063s21/21284k
2Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.142s18/20286k
3Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)*+0.307s17/19289k
4Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.353s17/20285k
5Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.379s18/18290k
6Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+0.429s15/17288k
7Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP20)+0.503s16/18290k
8Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.529s18/19288k
9Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.672s15/16288k
10Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP20)+0.676s18/20292k
11Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.686s18/18289k
12Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+0.769s16/17286k
13Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.829s5/20284k
14Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia (GP19)+0.892s11/17290k
15Alex MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)*+0.894s20/20290k
16Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP20)+0.934s15/19290k
17Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP20)+1.246s19/19291k
18Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (GP19)+1.330s19/19288k
19Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Test Rider (RS-GP)+1.629s14/20286k
20Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.987s6/18288k
21Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+3.159s8/8286k

* Rookie.
Official Jerez MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 36.705s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 38.051s (2019)

By Peter McLaren