Morbidelli breaks clear of Rins to take his second win of the season at the Teruel MotoGP, the last of the back-to-back Aragon rounds.

Third place for Mir means he extends his world championship lead to 14 points over Quartararo, with three rounds to go.

Updated MotoGP points standings - CLICK HERE

Quartararo and Vinales couldn't make an impression at the front, but fought hard throughout for every point. 

After starting 17th, Dovizioso made mid-race progress, but then ran wide and lost a handful of places, costing him fourth in the standings to Morbidelli who is now back in contention, 25 points from Mir.

Debut pole starter and pre-race favourite Nakagami disastrously crashed from the lead after just a few corners.

Fellow Honda rider Marquez was storming forwards as the only rider on the hard front tyre, but then also crashed out.

Binder hit the back of Miller into Turn 2 on the opening lap, taking them both down.

Valentino Rossi missed his second event after last week's positive Covid test and was not replaced.

HRC test rider Bradl was again replacing injured reigning world champion Marc Marquez.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Teruel MotoGP, Aragon - Race Results
1Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)41m 47.652s
2Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+2.205s
3Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+5.376s
4Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+10.299s
5Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia (GP19)+12.915s
6Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+12.953s
7Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+14.262s
8Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+14.720s
9Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+17.177s
10Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP20)+19.519s
11Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+19.708s
12Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+20.591s
13Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP20)+22.222s
14Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (GP19)+26.496s
15Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+31.816s
 Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)DNF
 Alex MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)*DNF
 Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP20)DNF
 Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)DNF
 Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP20)DNF
 Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)*DNF
By Peter McLaren