Pole position qualifier Francesco Bagnaia leads a delayed morning warm-up for the 2021 Aragon MotoGP.

The session was postponed due to fog but, unlike the shortened Moto3 and Moto2 sessions, took place over the usual 20 minutes.

Last year's pole starter Takaaki Nakagami (who has only qualified in 11th) was fastest for most of warm-up, ahead of his 200th Grand Prix start, before Bagnaia took to the top.

Suzuki's world champion Joan Mir, front-row starter Jack Miller (Ducati) and Aprilia's Aleix Espargaro completed the top six with Yamaha's world championship leader Fabio Quartararo in eighth.

Having missed the 2020 rounds through injury, Marc Marquez is seeking his fifth Aragon win in a row at one of his favourite anti-clockwise tracks. The Repsol Honda star has qualified a season-best fourth, but - due to the cool conditions - waited until the halfway stage of warm-up before taking to the track on old soft tyres.

Brother Alex fell at Turn 7 this morning, at a track where he produced his best-yet MotoGP ride one year ago.

All riders used the soft rear tyre this morning, which - despite this weekend's hotter than expected temps - is also the overwhelming favourite for this afternoon's race.

After splitting from Yamaha following Austria and missing Silverstone, Maverick Vinales returns to MotoGP action with Aprilia, where he has signed to race until the end of 2022. The Spaniard was last in warm-up, almost one second behind Jake Dixon.

Yamaha test rider Cal Crutchlow is replacing Vinales at the Factory Yamaha team for the second event in a row, with Dixon likewise staying at Petronas Yamaha on the injured Franco Morbidelli's 2019 A-spec bike.

Aragon MotoGP, MotorLand - Warm-up Results
PosRiderNatTeamTime/DiffLapMax (km/h)
1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)1'48.054s8/10339k
2Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.030s4/11335k
3Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.278s5/10335k
4Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+0.400s9/11342k
5Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.483s5/11344k
6Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.569s5/11341k
7Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+0.614s9/9339k
8Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.664s5/11335k
9Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+0.690s5/11338k
10Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.731s6/6340k
11Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+0.751s4/11343k
12Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.807s5/11343k
13Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.854s5/11341k
14Cal CrutchlowGBRMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.910s9/11335k
15Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.951s4/11335k
16Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+0.982s9/11340k
17Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+0.998s5/11332k
18Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+1.079s9/9337k
19Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+1.108s11/11339k
20Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.210s7/11337k
21Jake DixonGBRPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.346s5/11332k
22Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+2.215s9/11339k

* Rookie
Pole position time:
Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati 1m 46.322s
Official Aragon MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 46.635s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Franco Morbidelli ITA Yamaha 1m 48.249s(2020)

By Peter McLaren