Izan Guevara wins the COTA Moto3 Grand Prix after two race stoppages and a shocking multi-rider accident involving title leader Pedro Acosta.

The original race was red-flagged with 7 laps completed (and 10 remaining) after Filip Salac needed medical attention following a highside.

A 5-lap dash was announced for the restart, but with three laps to go there was a massive accident on the back straight when Jeremy Alcoba clipped the back wheel of Deniz Oncu and fell, with Andrea Migno and Acosta then being launched into the air after hitting Alcoba's stricken bike at around 160mph. 

Miraculously, none of the riders were seriously hurt.

WIth less than 2/3rds of the restart completed and no time for another restart (unless moved to the end of the day) then, as per the rules, the result was taken from the end of the first race.

That meant Guevara - who had retired from the restart lead with a technical problem, leaving him in tears after a meltdown in the pits - was suddenly declared a first-time Grand Prix winner.

Dennis Foggia has closed to within 30 points from Acosta, while fellow title contender Sergio Garcia was ruled out of the remainder of the weekend after a hematoma on his kidney was discovered following a Friday fall...

Austin Moto3 Grand Prix, COTA - Race Results
1Izan GuevaraSPASolunion GASGAS Aspar Team(GASGAS)15m 57.747s
2Dennis FoggiaITALeopard Racing(Honda)15m 58.132s
3John McPheeGBRPetronas Sprinta Racing(Honda)15m 58.246s
4Jaume MasiaSPARed Bull KTM Ajo(KTM)15m 58.453s
5Deniz ÖncüTURRed Bull KTM Tech 3(KTM)15m 59.013s
6Jeremy AlcobaSPAIndonesian Racing Gresini Moto3(Honda)15m 59.018s
7Darryn BinderRSAPetronas Sprinta Racing(Honda)15m 59.138s
8Pedro AcostaSPARed Bull KTM Ajo(KTM)15m 59.290s
9Tatsuki SuzukiJPNSIC58 Squadra Corse(Honda)15m 59.567s
10Andrea MignoITARivacold Snipers Team(Honda)16m 0.227s
11Stefano NepaITABOE Owlride(KTM)16m 0.430s
12Romano FenatiITASterilgarda Max Racing Team(Husqvarna)16m 1.004s
13Ayumu SasakiJPNRed Bull KTM Tech 3(KTM)16m 1.239s
14Xavier ArtigasSPALeopard Racing(Honda)16m 1.399s
15Niccolò AntonelliITAAvintia VR46(KTM)16m 3.833s
16Lorenzo FellonFRASIC58 Squadra Corse(Honda)16m 6.691s
17Maximilian KoflerAUTCIP Green Power(KTM)16m 7.276s
18Carlos TataySPAAvintia Esponsorama Moto3(KTM)16m 7.724s
19Alberto SurraITARivacold Snipers Team(Honda)16m 7.877s
20Riccardo RossiITABOE Owlride(KTM)16m 8.283s
21Adrian FernandezSPASterilgarda Max Racing Team(Husqvarna)16m 11.854s
22Ryusei YamanakaJPNCarXpert PruestelGP(KTM)16m 11.975s
23Kaito TobaJPNCIP Green Power(KTM)16m 12.384s
24Andi Farid IzdiharINAHonda Team Asia(Honda)16m 12.541s
25Yuki KuniiJPNHonda Team Asia(Honda)16m 12.715s
 Filip SalacCZECarXpert PruestelGP(KTM)DNF