World championship leader Remy Gardner falls from an early second place while chasing team-mate and title rival Raul Fernandez, meaning the Australian's world championship lead has been reduced to just 9 points with three rounds to go.

Fabio di Giannantonio then made occasional gains in pursuit of Fernandez, but never got within reach of the Red Bull Ajo rider.

Moto2 rookie Cameron Beaubier delighted the home fans by diving for the lead at turn 1 and battling for a rostrum in the early part of the race, on his way to a career best fifth...

Austin Moto2 Grand Prix, COTA - Race Results
1Raul FernandezSPARed Bull KTM Ajo(Kalex)39m 10.521s
2Fabio Di GiannantonioITAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2(Kalex)39m 12.255s
3Marco BezzecchiITASKY Racing Team VR46(Kalex)39m 13.621s
4Augusto FernandezSPAElf Marc VDS Racing Team(Kalex)39m 14.582s
5Cameron BeaubierUSAAmerican Racing(Kalex)39m 15.902s
6Tony ArbolinoITALiqui Moly Intact GP(Kalex)39m 18.098s
7Ai OguraJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia(Kalex)39m 21.608s
8Xavi ViergeSPAPetronas Sprinta Racing(Kalex)39m 25.470s
9Marcos RamirezSPAAmerican Racing(Kalex)39m 26.572s
10Jake DixonGBRPetronas Sprinta Racing(Kalex)39m 28.799s
11Aron CanetSPAInde Aspar Team(Boscoscuro)39m 31.200s
12Jorge NavarroSPAMB Conveyors Speed Up(Boscoscuro)39m 33.259s
13Simone CorsiITAMV Agusta Forward Racing(MV Agusta)39m 33.434s
14Somkiat ChantraTHAIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia(Kalex)39m 33.768s
15Bo BendsneyderNEDPertamina Mandalika SAG Team(Kalex)39m 33.629s
16Tetsuta NagashimaJPNItaltrans Racing Team(Kalex)39m 37.527s
17Barry BaltusBELNTS RW Racing GP(NTS)39m 38.607s
18Joe RobertsUSAItaltrans Racing Team(Kalex)39m 43.240s
19Stefano ManziITAFlexbox HP40(Kalex)39m 48.063s
20Hafizh SyahrinMALNTS RW Racing GP(NTS)39m 50.179s
21Fermín AldeguerSPAMB Conveyors Speed Up(Boscoscuro)39m 51.206s
22Lorenzo BaldassarriITAMV Agusta Forward Racing(MV Agusta)39m 57.689s
 Celestino ViettiITASKY Racing Team VR46(Kalex)DNF 
 Marcel SchrotterGERLiqui Moly Intact GP(Kalex)DNF 
 Albert ArenasSPAInde Aspar Team(Boscoscuro)DNF 
 Hector GarzoSPAFlexbox HP40(Kalex)DNF 
 Sam LowesGBRElf Marc VDS Racing Team(Kalex)DNF 
 Remy GardnerAUSRed Bull KTM Ajo(Kalex)DNF 
 Thomas LuthiSWIPertamina Mandalika SAG Team(Kalex)DNF