Iker Lecuona leads a perilous final practice on a drying track for the Emilia Romagna MotoGP at Misano.

The improving conditions saw the first slick-tyre laps of the weekend. But conditions were treacherous due to cold temperatures and plenty of wet patches - Enea Bastianini, Lecuona, Marc Marquez, Michele Pirro and Joan Mir all being caught out in quick sucession.

Jorge Martin and Alex Marquez added their names to the fallers list, followed by another spill for Bastianini.

Meanwhile, after a poor FP3, Bagnaia was back on form.

The Italian was able to keep heat in his tyres and comfortably led the timesheets until a late charge by Lecuona, while title rival Fabio Quartararo also rebuilt confidence by rising to fourth.

A tense Qualifying 1, for those outside the top ten after third free practice - including title rivals Quartararo and Bagnaia - will now get underway.

Quartararo has his first chance to win the 2021 MotoGP title this weekend, providing he can keep his 52-point lead over Bagnaia to at least 50-points on Sunday.

Aprilia wild-card Lorenzo Savadori has been ruled of the remainder of this event, and a planned Portimao wild-card, after fracturing his collarbone in FP3.

Emilia Romagna MotoGP, Misano - Free Practice (4) Results
1Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)1'37.441s11/11292k
2Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)+0.094s12/12298k
3Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+1.407s9/9298k
4Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.448s13/13292k
5Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.708s13/13293k
6Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+2.577s11/11295k
7Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+2.736s12/12294k
8Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+2.870s8/8289k
9Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+3.797s3/8294k
10Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+3.828s10/11294k
11Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+3.865s4/9286k
12Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+3.989s8/9294k
13Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+4.452s11/11286k
14Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+4.838s8/8294k
15Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+5.121s12/13292k
16Andrea DoviziosoITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+5.353s11/11283k
17Michele PirroITADucati Team (GP21)+5.628s3/6274k
18Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+6.024s8/9295k
19Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+6.144s3/5284k
20Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+6.896s2/6283k
21Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+6.904s5/6289k
22Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+7.533s2/2280k
23Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+10.165s5/5287k

* Rookie
Official Misano MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 31.007s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Enea Bastianini ITA Ducati 1m 32.242s(2021)