The 2022 Sepang MotoGP Test has finished with Enea Bastianini putting the new-look Gresini Ducati team on top of the timesheets with a new all-time (unofficial) lap record.

The second and final day got off to a flying start with Saturday leader Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia) and then Bastianini (GP21) both beating the previous fastest ever two-wheeled lap recorded at the Malaysian circuit, by Danilo Petrucci, on a Ducati in 2019.

It looked like there was a good chance of seeing MotoGP's first ever 1m 57s lap - Bastianini said later he had run wide at the final corner on his fastest lap - but a shower arrived shortly before 2pm, then heavier rain at 3pm, prompting most riders to pack up early. However, some stayed on to complete wet laps.

The test was the first time that Marc Marquez had ridden a MotoGP bike since winning at Misano last October, after which he was sidelined by a repeat of his 2011 double-vision problems.

Marco Bezzecchi (VR46 Ducati) was the top rookie in 16th, with slowest rookie Darryn Binder (RNF Yamaha) still within 1.8s of the top.

LCR Honda's Alex Marquez completed the most laps today, 57, a few more than RNF Yamaha's Andrea Dovizioso (55) and Monster Yamaha's world champion Fabio Quartararo (54).

The track action took place from 10am to 6pm, followed by practice starts.

The second and final MotoGP pre-season test will be held at Indonesia's new Mandalika circuit from February 11-13, where rain is also forecast...

2022 Sepang MotoGP Test - Sunday (FINAL)
Pos RiderNatTeamTime
1=Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)1m 58.131s
2=Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.026s
3=Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.112s
4=Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.130s
5=Maverick VinalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.130s
6=Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.134s
7=Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.182s
8=Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.201s
9=Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.282s
10=Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.289s
11=Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+0.299s
12=Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.398s
13=Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.476s
14=Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.514s
15=Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.570s
16=Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*+0.579s
17=Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.669s
18=Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.885s
19=Raul FernandezSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.049s
20=Fabio di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP21)*+1.066s
21=Cal CrutchlowGBRYamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1)+1.131s
22=Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)+1.153s
23=Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.217s
24= Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.234s
25=Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*+1.726s
26=Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+1.865s
27=Takuya TsudaJPNSuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+7.547s


^X Rider is X positions higher than previous hour.
= Rider is same position as previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than previous hour.

Fastest Day 1 Time:
Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia 1m 58.371s

Fastest Shakedown Time:
Maverick Vinales SPA Aprilia 1m 58.942s

Official Sepang MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Fabio Quartararo
FRA Yamaha 1m 58.576s (2019)
Fastest race lap:
Valentino Rossi
ITA Yamaha 1m 59.661s (2019)

Previous unofficial Sepang MotoGP lap record:
Danilo Petrucci
ITA Ducati 1m 58.239s (2019 testing)

By Peter McLaren
Pic: Hazrin CRIC