TT 2017: William Dunlop fastest in Supersport class

William Dunlop set the pace in the Supersport qualifying session with a speed of 125mph on his IC Racing/Caffrey Yamaha R6.
William Dunlop
William Dunlop
© Media Pictures

William Dunlop produced a hot lap to shoot to the top of the Supersport times during Isle of Man TT practice on Saturday.

Dunlop upped the tempo to 125.297mph on his IC Racing/Caffrey Yamaha R6 as he set the fastest time overall, completing his lap of the Mountain Course in 18m 04.049s.

Dean Harrison was only nine tenths behind on his Silicone Engineering Kawasaki with a lap of 125.188mph, followed by Ian Hutchinson in third on the McAMS Yamaha.

Yorkshire rider Hutchinson has won the last four Supersport races at the TT and lapped at 124.651mph, with James Hillier in fourth place on the combined times after a lap of 124.425mph on the JG Speedfit Kawasaki.

Peter Hickman (Trooper Beer Smiths Triumph) was next at 124.103mph in fifth followed by Lee Johnston (Padgett's Honda), who set his best lap of 123.369mph before his spill on Saturday at Greeba Castle.

Lincolnshire's Gary Johnson was seventh fastest on his Triumph (123.336mph) after setting his best lap on Saturday, with Michael Dunlop in eighth on his MD Racing Yamaha (123.325mph).

Newcomer Adam McLean lapped at 120.499mph on the MSS Kawasaki as the Ulsterman slotted into 23rd position. The 22-year-old is the fastest of the newcomers this year, with Paul Jordan lapping at 118.044mph. Jordan later came off at Glen Helen and sustained a suspected broken wrist.

Guy Martin was 18th fastest on the Honda Racing CBR600RR after lapping at 121.199mph.

In the Superstock class, Ian Hutchinson was fastest overall at 129.535mph after setting his best lap on Friday on the Tyco BMW.

Lee Johnston was next on the East Coast BMW (128.896mph) followed by Michael Rutter (Bathams BMW), who lapped at 128.588mph and Dean Harrison on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki (128.477mph).

Michael Dunlop is 14th on the combined times, setting his best lap on his Suzuki of 125.328mph on Friday. His older brother William lapped at 126.719mph on the Temple Golf Club Yamaha R1 as he finished ninth on the time sheets.

The Lightweight times were headed by Martin Jessopp at 116.535mph followed by Ivan Lintin (116.492mph), Peter Hickman on Ryan Farquhar's Kawasaki (116.239mph) and Dan Cooper (116.096mph).

Michael Dunlop went out on the McAdoo Kawasaki on Saturday and lapped at 115.572mph as the Ballymoney man went sixth fastest overall.

Read More