Conditions were described as perfect for the second timed practice session of the 2009 Manx Grand Prix, with the roads closing at 1800 hrs, Senior, Junior, Lightweight and Newcomers A were scheduled to be first away at 1820.

1830 and the first pair, Andrew Brady and Ryan McCay (Seniors) were sent on their way, followed by Junior, Wayne Kirwan and Senior Scott Wilson, who was the first to complete a lap in 19 minutes 14.83 seconds, an average of 117.618mph.

1910 and the first session ended letting the Classic, Post Classic, Ultra Lightweight & Newcomers B commence their session a few minutes later headed by Paul Coward, Senior Classic and Lightweight competitor Mike Carter.

Manxman Ryan Kneen once again topped the time sheet in the Junior Manx Grand Prix with a speed of 117.363mph, followed by Wayne Kirwan at 116.022mph and Michael Sweeney at 115.831mph.

Scott Wilson headed the Senior Manx class at 117.618mph, then came Ryan McCay at 117.615, with Ryan Kneen's Junior time taking third overall, followed by Simon Fulton at 117.028mph.

Sean Murphy was fastest in Newcomers A at 116.436mph, with Dan Sayle quickest in the Lightweight at 114.092mph.

The Senior Classic practice was headed by Olie Linsdell and Roy Richardson, who both broke to 100mph barrier.
Paton mounted Linsdell lapped at 106.339mph, whilst Richardson on the FCL Aermacchi put in a 104.946mph lap.

Third quickest was Mark Parrett on his Matchless at 99.653mph.

The Junior Classic saw previous winner Chris McGahan top the class at 98.842mph, followed by yet another previous winner, Bill Swallow at 97.137mph. Third was Parrett, this time on a 350cc Honda at 97.102mph.

The Lightweight Classic leader for the evening was yet another previous victor, Dave Smith with a lap of91.750mph on his Yamaha.

Newcomers B was topped by Andy Lawson at 103.387mph, whilst the quickest three in the Ultra Lightweight category all lapped at over 107mph. Joe Phillips, 107.649mph; Rab Davie, 107.584mph & Mike Minns 107.396mph.

Roy Richardson and Frank James shared the Post Classic honours, Roy with a 111.480mph lap in the 2-stroke division and Frank in the 4-stroke section put in a lap of 98.265.

326 machines went through Technical Inspection during the evening, made up as follows:

Senior Classic - 33
Junior classic - 56
Senior - 25
Junior - 79
Lightweight/Ultra Lightweight - 75
Newcomers - 36
Post Classic - 22

There were six incidents reported during this session, Simon Perkin was off at the 27th Milestone and was AirMed to Nobles, as was Brian Spooner who came off at the Verandah.

Glyn Jones was off at Mayhill, whilst Pete Symes came to grief at Braddan Oak, both were OK, as was Yvonne Montgomery who was off at Sarah's Cottage, seen by Paramedics and pronounced OK.

Lastly Marshal Hugh Evans was seen by the Doctor at the 27th and again was found to be OK.

The next practice session is scheduled for Wednesday evening with roads closing at 18.00hours, weather permitting.