The two teams on view at Purfleet on Friday meet for the second time this week as Arena-Essex Speedway welcome the vistors from Berkshire, the Reading Euphony Racers.

Monday's corresponding League match, raced at Smallmead on a bitterly cold night, went down to a last heat decider with the Racers snatching victory with a 5-1.

So it is, therefore, something of a revenge mission Friday night for the A F Stocktaking Hammers.

Looking at the Racers squad, gone from the team this year are Anders Henriksson (not racing in the UK so far this year); Glen Phillips (recalled by the Isle of Wight), Dave Mullett (retired); Jason Bunyan (now at Coventry) and Chris Schramm (now at Newport).

Just three riders were retained from 2002, those being Welshman Phil Morris; Paul Clews, who's contract was recently purchased from Coventry; and Andrew Appleton, who joined them midway through last season after starting the 2002 season in the Elite League at Oxford.

To bolster the top five, the Reading management swooped during the close season to sign the all-action Aussie speedster Scott Smith on loan from Newport. And they then pulled off something of a coup by landing the signature of talented Swedish teenager Jonas Davidsson who had attracted interest from several other clubs.

Shane Colvin returns to Reading after a couple of seasons riding in the Conference League and after having a spell, albeit a brief one, riding for Workington last year.

Another "returnee," veteran Stuart Williams, was handed the #7 berth to start the season but is already sidelined through injury. That has prompted Reading to sign 16 year old Daniel King as a temporary replacement and he'll be riding against his elder brother Jason Friday night.

A three points or more victory to claim all three League points shouldn't be beyond the A F Stocktaking Hammers but Reading have, traditionally, ridden well here at Purfleet.

Morris, Appleton (who recorded a 15-point maximum on Monday) and Smith will certainly be the danger men to the A F Stocktaking Hammers aspirations of victory.

Teams for Friday (in riding order):

Arena-Essex A F Stocktaking Hammers: 1. Kelvin Tatum, (Capt), 2. Lee Herne, 3. Joonas Kylmakorpi, 4. Henning Bager, 5. Leigh Lanham, 6. Andy Galvin, 7. Jason King.
Reading Euphony Racers: 1. Phil Morris (Capt), 2. Paul Clews, 3. Jonas Davidsson, 4. Andrew Appleton, 5. Scott Smith, 6. Daniel King, 7. Shane Colvin.