GMT94 Yamaha rider Jules Cluzel has claimed the first WorldSSP pole position of 2021 with a new lap record at MotorLand Aragon, ahead of Niki Tuuli and Philipp Oettl.   

WorldSSP Aragon, Spain - Superpole Qualifying Results
1Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha1:52.937s
2Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corsa Clienti+0.288s
3Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti Racing+0.416s
4Steven OdendaalSAEvan Bros Yamaha+0.465s
5Dominique AegerterSWITen Kate Racing Yamaha+0.616s
6Federico CaricasuloITAGMT94 Yamaha+0.713s
7Marc AlcobaSPAYamaha MS Racing+1.096s
8Hannes SoomerESTKallio Racing Yamaha+1.169s
9Christoffer BergmanSWEWoicik Racing yamaha+1.248s
10Luca BernardiSMRCM Racing Yamaha+1.386s
11Federico FuligniITAVFT Racing Yamaha+1.430s
12Manuel GonzalezSPAYamaha Parkingo Racing+1.437s
13Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1.451s
14Davide PizzoliITAVFT Racing Yamaha+1.647s
15Randy KrummenacherSWIEAB Racing Yamaha+1.737s
16Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+1.849s
17Kevin ManfrediITAAltogo Yamaha Racing+2.063s
18Maria HerreraSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+2.233s
19Luigi MontellaITAChiodo Racing Yamaha+2.315s
20Vertti TakalaFINKallio Racing Yamaha+2.456s
21Michel FabrizioITAG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+2.760s
22Thomas GradingerATDK Motorsport Yamaha+3.075s
23Stephane FrossardSWIJura Vitesse Moto Team Yamaha+3.521s
24Galang Hendra PratamaINDTen Kate Racing Yamaha+3.575s
25Pawel SzkopekPOLYamaha MS Racing+3.753s
26Daniel WebbGBRWRP Wepol Yamaha Racing+4.506s
27Leonardo TacciniITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+4.611s
28Shogo KawasakiJAPG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+6.046s

All three riders were on top of the standings at various points, however, Cluzel’s penultimate effort was good enough to leapfrog the Finnish rider. 

Tuuli and Steven Odendaal were the front runners on day-one, as the former Moto2 riders finished both free practice sessions first and second.

The MV Agusta rider was over three tenths ahead of his South African competitor in FP2, while it was a return to the top five for 2019 series champion Randy Krummenacher after FP1 which saw him finish last without completing a lap.

Krummenacher suffered a crash at the notorious turn two during Superpole qualifying whilst running in 11th position. Raffaele De Rosa was another big name to crash during qualifying but remained in 12th. 

Cluzel was third fastest during the afternoon session, while Raffaele De Rosa finished fifth quickest for Orelac Racing Kawasaki. 

2020 WorldSSP Aragon Stats: 

Andrea Locatelli BEL 4 victories

Best Lap

Andrea Locatelli BEL 1m 53.003s