Jonathan Rea remains fastest at World Superbike Portimao as he bettered title rival Toprak Razgatlioglu by less than a tenth in FP3

After finishing second overall on day one, Alex Lowes will take no further part in the weekend after being ruled out due to injury early Saturday morning. 

On-track, Razgatlioglu laid down an early marker by setting his best lap of the weekend on just his first flying lap of the session. 

A time of 1:40.761s was a full second quicker than he managed on day one, which also put him over four tenths clear of Rea.

Razgatlioglu continued to churn out laps quicker than Rea’s personal best, while Garrett Gerloff moved to within two tenths of his fellow Yamaha rider after following the championship leader out on track

At the beginning of Rea’s final run, the six-time world champion managed to better Razgatlioglu’s time by two tenths of a second. Andrea Locatelli, who was fourth before his final stint also improved to get ahead of Gerloff and into P3. 

Locatelli did suffer a late crash in sector three, however, the Italian rider was unhurt and back on his feet immediately. 

The top Ducati for much of the session was once again Loris Baz. The Frenchman was sixth before being dropped to seventh by factory team rider Scott Redding who jumped to fifth.

World Superbike Portimao, Portugal - Free Practice Results (3)
1Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team1:40.553s
2Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha+0.046s
3Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha+0.420s
4Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha+0.422s
5Scott ReddingGBRAruba.It Ducati+0.612s
6Michael Van Der MarkNEDMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+0.660s
7Loris BazFRAGoEleven Ducati+0.663s
8Michael RinaldiITAAruba.It Ducati+1.030s
9Leandro MercadoARGMIE Honda Racing+1.084s
10Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRC+1.089s
11Alvaro BautistaSPATeam HRC+1.376s
12Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+1.390s
13Eugene LavertyIRLMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+1.548s
14Isaac VinalesSPAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1.687s
15Jonas FolgerGERBenovo BMW+2.142s
16Samuele CavalieriSPABarni Ducati+2.587s
17Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha+3.033s
18Tito RabatITAKawasaki Puccetti+3.427s
19Loris CressonBELPedercini Kawasaki+3.477s
20Christophe PonssonFRAGil Yamaha+3.506s
21Gabrielle RuiuITAB-Max Racing Team+3.957s
22Lachlan EpisAUSPedercini Kawasaki+4.281s