Michael Van Der Mark clinches BMW’s first World Superbike win of the season, while Jonathan Rea crashes from the lead again. 

As was the case in race one, Toprak Razgatlioglu made a brilliant start to lead into turn one, however, a more comfortable looking Jonathan Rea in the wet conditions gained the lead on the exit of turn five. 

But just as Rea looked to pull clear from Scott Redding who also got past Razgatlioglu, the Kawasaki rider suffered yet another front end crash from the lead. 

Rea wasn’t alone in going down on lap one as Michael Rinaldi was involved in an incident which saw him highside at turn seven. 

While Redding continued to lead, Van Der Mark and Loris Baz both got ahead of Razgatlioglu. 

On lap four there was a change for the lead as Van Der Mark caught and passed Redding. 

A tentative Razgatlioglu was then relegated to eighth as Leon Haslam, team-mate Andrea Locatelli and Alvaro Bautista all got through. 

Kohta Nozane also suffered a fall at turn 13 with five laps remaining, while Baz and Haslam began to close in on Redding. 

Haslam then crashed at turn 13 after attempting to go down the inside of Baz, before a second fall came a few corners later. 

The top three of Van Der Mark, Redding and Baz remained unchanged, while Razgatlioglu increased his championship lead further after coming home sixth.

World Superbike Portimao, Portugal - Superpole Race Results
1Michael Van Der MarkNEDMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team10 Laps
2Scott ReddingGBRAruba.It Ducati+5.330s
3Loris BazFRAGoEleven Ducati+7.066s
4Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha+9.264s
5Alvaro BautistaSPATeam HRC+9.753s
6Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha+16.745s
7Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+19.047s
8Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha+19.115s
9Eugene LavertyIRLMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+20.901s
10Isaac VinalesSPAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+28.997s
11Leandro MercadoARGMIE Honda Racing+31.057s
12Samuele CavalieriSPABarni Ducati+38.997s
13Jonas FolgerGERBenovo BMW+41.330s
14Tito RabatITAKawasaki Puccetti+51.079s
15Gabrielle RuiuITAB-Max Racing Team+55.894s
16Christophe PonssonFRAGil Yamaha+56.194s
17Lachlan EpisAUSPedercini Kawasaki+1'23.343s
18Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRCDNF
19Kohta NozaneJPNGRT YamahaDNF
20Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamDNF
21Michael RinaldiITAAruba.It DucatiDNF
22Loris CressonBELPedercini KawasakiDNF