Dominique Aegerter thoroughly dominated the lone World Supersport race of the weekend at Jerez to extend his points lead to 62. 

Aegerter immediately took the lead from pole sitter Philipp Oettl before building a one second lead come the end of lap two. 

That gap continued to extend courtesy of a new lap record on lap five, while Vertti Takala suffered a crash further down the field. 

Moto2 rider Stefano Manzi made a brilliant start and got as high as fifth, but was unable to keep pace with the podium group as the race went on. Manzi was eventually pushed down to ninth by a struggling Steven Odendaal on lap eight. 

Aegerter’s team-mate Galang Hendra Pratama crashed with six laps to go, while the championship leader had almost the entire front straight as an advantage over Oettl. 

The top five of Aegerter, Oettl, Niki Tuuli, Manuel Gonzalez and Federico Caricasulo remained the same during the final stages, with Aegerter winning by a stunning nine seconds. 

Yamaha rider Randy Krummenacher crashed on the final lap after an intense battle with Manzi for ninth. 

World Supersport Jerez, Spain - Race Results
1Dominique AegerterSWITen Kate Racing Yamaha17 Laps
2Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti Racing+9.609s
3Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corsa Clienti+10.251s
4Manuel GonzalezSPAYamaha Parkingo Racing+11.861s
5Federico CaricasuloSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+13.153s
6Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+14.592s
7Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+14.993s
8Steven OdendaalSAEvan Bros Yamaha+17.639s
9Stefano ManziITAGMT94 Yamaha+18.175s
10Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha+24.459s
11Marcel BrennerSUIVFT Racing Yamaha+26.090s
12Hannes SoomerESTKallio Racing Yamaha+28.561s
13Peter SebestyenHUNEvan Bros Yamaha+29.335s
14Federico FuligniITAVFT Racing Yamaha+33.786s
15Christoffer BergmanSWEWoicik Racing Yamaha+38.184s
16David Sanchis MartinezSPAWRP Wepol Yamaha Racing+45.959s
17Kevin ManfrediITAAltogo Yamaha Racing+46.191s
18Maria HerreraSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+46.535s
19Leonardo TacciniITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+46.933s
20Stephane FrossardSWIJura Vitesse Moto Team Yamaha+1:00.563s
21Ondrej VostatekCZEIXS-Yart Yamaha+1:00.629s
22Shogo KawasakiJAPG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+1:09.437s
23Randy KrummenacherSWICM Racing YamahaDNF
24Luigi MontellaITAChiodo Racing YamahaDNF
25Galang Hendra PratamaINDTen Kate Racing YamahaDNF
26Martin VugrinecCROFerquest - Unior Racing TeamDNF
27Unai OrradreSPAYamaha MS RacingDNF
28Vertti TakalaFINKallio Racing YamahaDNF
29Glenn Van StraalenNEDEAB Racing YamahaDNF
30Eduardo Montero HuertaSPADK Motorsport YamahaDNF