World Supersport FP1 started with an early issue for MV Agusta rider NIki Tuuli as a technical problem stopped the Finn from getting to the end of pit lane. 

Former WorldSSP300 champion Jeffery Buis, who will be on the WorldSSP grid full-time next season, was in action for his third intermediate class weekend of the year.

World Supersport Mandalika, Indonesia - Free Practice Results (1)
1Manuel GonzalezSPAYamaha ParkinGo Racing1:38.795s
2Dominique AegerterSWITen Kate Racing Yamaha+0.429s
3Randy KrummenacherSWICM Racing Yamaha+0.545s
4Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+0.626s
5Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+0.773s
6Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha+1.244s
7Valentin DebiseFRAGMT94 Yamaha+1.384s
8Peter SebestyenHUNEvan Bros Yamaha+1.499s
9Steven OdendaalSAEvan Bros Yamaha+1.535s
10Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corsa Clienti+1.577s
11Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti Racing+1.608s
12Federico CaricasuloSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+1.747s
13Hannes SoomerESTKallio Racing Yamaha+1.969s
14Christoffer BergmanSWEWoicik Racing Yamaha+2.197s
15Vertti TakalaFINKallio Racing Yamaha+2.414s
16Unai OrradreSPAYamaha MS Racing+2.466s
17Andres GonzalesARGVFT Racing Yamaha+2.888s
18Galang Hendra PratamaINDTen Kate Racing Yamaha+3.015s
19Daniel ValleSPAYamaha MS Racing+3.209s
20Jeffrey BuisBELG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+3.686s
21Glenn Van StraalenNEDEAB Racing Yamaha+4.380s

2021 World Champion Dominique Aegerter was the early pace setter before soon-to-be Moto2 rider Manuel Gonzalez took over at the top. 

Gonzalez was then bettered by fellow Yamaha rider and 2019 series champion Randy Krummenacher. 

The Swiss rider improved further on his next two laps to lead by an impressive margin of six tenths from fellow countryman Aegerter. Federico Caricasulo became the first rider to suffer a crash at the new Mandalika circuit after a nasty highside at turn four. 

Krummenacher remained fastest until Gonzalez, who came close to taking over top spot with several earlier efforts, finally did so with a time of 1:39.726s.

However, Krummenacher responded immediately to go nearly four tenths quicker than the Spaniard. 

Gonzalez got within half a tenth of Krummenacher at the final minute remaining mark, before going half a second quicker on his very next lap.

Aegerter then went second late on, while Kawasaki riders Raffaele De Rosa and Can Oncu rounded out the top five. 

Philipp Oettl is competing in his final race weekend ahead of moving to WorldSBK with GoEleven Ducati, while Luca Bernardi who remains sidelined by injury also makes the step-up to Barni Racing Ducati in 2022.