2022 WorldSSP line-up: Closer look at which riders have been confirmed so far

Here’s the current state of play regarding the confirmed 2022 WorldSSP riders, along with which teams are yet to confirm their line-up.
Race start, Portuguese WorldSSP race2, 3 October 2021
Race start, Portuguese WorldSSP race2, 3 October 2021
© Gold and Goose

Here’s the current state of play regarding the confirmed 2022 WorldSSP riders, along with which teams are yet to confirm their line-up.

After a thrilling 2021 WorldSSP campaign, the 2022 grid is shaping up to be even better following Ducati and Triumph’s return to the class. 

It now means five instead of three manufacturers will be on the grid, with Yamaha, Kawasaki and MV Agusta being the other three.

Current world champion Dominique Aegerter returns to defend his title with Ten Kate Yamaha, while his team-mate is still to be confirmed. 

Elsewhere at Yamaha, Jules Cluzel is staying with GMT94 as is expected for Valentin Dubise. Patrick Hobelsberger is making his full-time return to the intermediate class with Kallio Yamaha, while Marcel Brenner (VFT Yamaha), Glenn Van Straalen (EAB Yamaha), Unai Orradre and Ondrej Vostatek (MS Yamaha) have all been confirmed too. 

The major surprise surrounding Yamaha was the parting between 2021 runner-up Steven Odendaal and Bardahl Evan Bros in December. Peter Sebestyen has been confirmed at the Italian-based team, while former Moto2 rider Lorenzo Baldassarri is expected to join him. 

At MV Agusta, Niki Tuuli will return alongside Turkish rider Bahattin Sofuoglu who makes the step-up from WorldSSP300. 

Perhaps the most intriguing manufacturer on the grid is Ducati who have returned to the class for the first time since 2007 with five teams. 

Those include Aruba.it Ducati with Nicolo Bulega, Barni Ducati with Oli Bayliss, CM Ducati (Maximillian Koffler), AltoGo Racing (Luca Ottaviani) and Althea Racing Ducati with Federico Caricasulo. 

Bulega, Bayliss and Caricasulo will be the favourites to challenge for podiums and possibly wins should the 955cc Panigale V2 be competitive enough to challenge the likes of Yamaha who have thoroughly dominated the series in recent seasons. 

Like MV Agusta, Dynavolt Triumph will have just one team on the grid, however, no rider signing has yet been announced. Stefano Manzi is one of the riders in contention. 

Finally, Kawasaki has five teams on the grid which amounts to a total of seven riders. 2021 WorldSSP300 champion Adrian Huertas has joined MTM Kawasaki, Can Oncu and Yari Montella are at Puccetti Kawasaki, Jeffrey Buis and Ben Currie are with Motozoo, while Tom Booth-Amos is confirmed at Prodina Kawasaki. The last ride is expected to see Raffaele De Rosa continue at Orelac Kawasaki. 

Here’s the full list of confirmed (Bold) riders, and who is expected to sign but is yet to officially do so. 

Ten Kate Yamaha: Dominique Aegerter, TBA

Bardahl Evan Bros Yamaha: Peter Sebestyen, Lorenzo Baldassarri, TBA

GMT94 Yamaha: Jules Cluzel, Valentine Debise, TBA

Kallio Yamaha: Patrick Hobelsberger, TBA

VFT Yamaha: Marcel Brenner 

EAB Yamaha: Glenn van Straalen

MS Yamaha: Unai Orradre, Ondrej Vostatek

MV Agusta Reparto Corse: Niki Tuuli, Bahattin Sofuoglu

Aruba.it Ducati: Nicolò Bulega

Barni Ducati: Oliver Bayliss 

CM Ducati: Maximilian Kofler

AltoGo Ducati: Luca Ottaviani 

Althea Ducati: Federico Caricasulo 

Orelac Kawasaki: Raffaele De Rosa, TBA

MTM Kawasaki: Adrian Huertas 

Puccetti Kawasaki: Can Oncu, Yari Montella

Motozoo Kawasaki: Jeffrey Buis, Ben Currie

Prodina Kawasaki: Tom Booth-Amos

Dynavolt Triumph: Stefano Manzi? Hannes Soomer? Brandon Paasch? TBA

Read More