Alessandro Zetti has officially joined Kallio Racing for the 2022 WorldSSP challenge, meaning he will race all European rounds.

The Italian rider, who competed in the CEV Moto2 championship for the past two seasons, will make his World Supersport debut in 2022 as he partners the team’s full-time rider Patrick Hobelsberger. 

While Zetti was already confirmed as part of last month’s provisional WorldSSP entry list, Kallio Racing had not yet announced the news until today.

"I'm very happy to be part of the team, in my opinion it's a great team and together we could do great things," added Zetti. 

"The main objective will be to try to win obviously even if it will be so hard. I'm super happy and can't wait to start working together with the new bike. I hope everything goes well and I deliver excellent performances, thank you for this opportunity."

Zetti will be aboard Yamaha R6 machinery, making him the 13th different Yamaha rider on the grid. 

Speaking about Zetti’s signing, Team Owner, Vesa Kallio, added: "In the fall, we began discussions about Alessandro joining our team and now together with management company Gaman Racing Global Service we have made a contract for the season of 2022.

"It was great that Alessandro was able to visit Finland and our workshop in Valkeakoski last weekend. We adjusted a bit of settings ready together with Alessandro and his crew chief, Jori, and at the same time we got to know each other better in a peaceful environment. 

"Alessandro seems like an eager rider who will surely be thirsty for success in the Challenge class. But let’s remain cool for a while now and start the true action in Estoril tests in March. 

"Before that, we prepare everything ready for the season, so we’ll be ready to fight for the top standings right away in Aragon."

Yamaha’s current crop of 2022 WorldSSP riders goes as followed:  

Ten Kate Racing Yamaha: Dominique Aegerter, Leonardo Taccini

Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team: Lorenzo Baldassarri, Peter Sebestyen 

GMT94 Yamaha Racing Jules Cluzel, Andy Verdoia

Kallio Racing: Patrick Hobelsberger, Alessandro Zetti

VFT Yamaha: Kyle Smith, Marcel Brenner 

EAB Yamaha Team: Glenn Van Straalen

Yamaha MS Racing: Unai Orradre, Ondrei Vostatek