Dominique Aegerter finishes the final World Supersport warm-up session of 2021 fastest for Ten Kate Yamaha in Mandalika. 

World Supersport Mandalika, Indonesia - Warm-Up Results
1Dominique AegerterSWITen Kate Racing Yamaha1:36.173s
2Manuel GonzalezSPAYamaha Parkingo Racing+0.235s
3Randy KrummenacherSWICM Racing Yamaha+0.337s
4Federico CaricasuloSPAVFT Yamaha Racing+0.707s
5Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corsa Clienti+0.718s
6Peter SebestyenHUNEvan Bros Yamaha+0.776s
7Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha+0.826s
8Hannes SoomerESTKallio Racing Yamaha+0.906s
9Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti Racing+1.000s
10Unai OrradreSPAYamaha MS Racing+1.030s
11Steven OdendaalSAEvan Bros Yamaha+1.170s
12Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1.253s
13Vertti TakalaFINKallio Racing Yamaha+1.631s
14Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+1.652s
15Glenn Van StraalenNEDEAB Racing Yamaha+1.837s
16Christoffer BergmanSWEWoicik Racing Yamaha+1.855s
17Galang Hendra PratamaINDTen Kate Racing Yamaha+1.949s
18Andres GonzalesARGVFT Racing Yamaha+2.035s
19Daniel ValleSPAYamaha MS Racing+2.266s
20Jeffrey BuisBELG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+3.716s

The first few laps of Sunday warm-up saw Moto2-bound Manuel Gonzalez lead from former Bardahl Yamaha team-mate Federico Caricasulo and Randy Krummenacher.

However, 2021 world champion Dominique Aegerter then went second, the same position he finished in Saturday’s race one. 

Aegerter then went fastest before an impressive mid 1m 36s lap from Gonzalez saw him reclaim top spot. Gonzalez’ margin of two tenths was reduced to 21 hundredths by Krummenacher who made it a Swiss 2-3. 

Despite several red sectors on their final few attempts, Gonzalez and Krummenacher failed to improve which wasn’t the case for Aegerter who went quickest with just over a minutes to go - a position he held to end warm-up. 

Race One

Raffaele De Rosa has claimed a maiden World Supersport win after holding off a late charge from 2021 world champion Dominique Aegerter. 

While dark clouds hovered over the Mandalika International Circuit as the threat of rain increased, Aegerter led into turn one from Federico Caricasulo and Manuel Gonzalez.

Caricasulo, who has yet to show the type of form that took him to second in 2019, made his way past Aegerter at turn seven to take the lead.

Gonzalez also made his through on Aegerter which pushed the 2021 world champion slightly wide and invited De Rosa to take a look at P3. However, Aegerter quickly shut the door to remain in the podium places. 

The lead changed hands once again on lap three as Gonzalez out-braked Caricasulo at turn 10. 

As light rain began to fall, Aegerter looked to be struggling and was passed by De Rosa and Can Oncu. 

Indonesian rider Galang Hendra Pratama was the first to pit as the rain started getting heavier on lap four. 

At the front, De Rosa was the quickest rider on-track and duly took the lead from Gonzalez at the same turn ten that the Spaniard previously did so. 

But De Rosa’s lead only lasted a lap as Gonzalez came back through, while Oncu, Caricasulo and Randy Krummenacher all closed in on the top two. 

De Rosa took the lead back off Gonzalez for the third time on lap seven, while the rain began to clear. 

Gonzalez was then relegated to third as Caricasulo put his VFT Yamaha second. 

Second in the championship, Steven Odendaal had brilliant back-to-back laps as he went from seventh to third, and crucially ahead of Gonzalez who has been closing in on the South African in recent rounds. 

With the battle for third place intensifying, De Rosa and Caricasulo broke clear to the tune of two seconds. 

While Caricasulo managed to get the gap down to five tenths from race leader De Rosa, the latter responded on laps 13 and 14 to extend that margin to a second. 

Aegerter, who was up to third with six laps to go, began a late charge for the win as he rapidly closed in on the top two. 

The Ten Kate Yamaha rider got through on Caricasulo at turn ten with just over two laps to go, and although he closed up on De Rosa during the final lap, it wasn’t enough to get the better of the Italian who took his maiden WorldSSP win at the 89th time of asking.