World Supersport Jerez, Spain - Free Practice Results (1)

Results from free practice one, round nine of the 2021 World Supersport Championship at Jerez, Spain.
Philipp Oettl, Catalunya WorldSSP, 17 September 2021
Philipp Oettl, Catalunya WorldSSP, 17 September 2021
© Gold and Goose

Philipp Oettl dominated the opening World Supersport practice session at Jerez, while Kenan Sofuoglu made a highly-anticipated return. 

WorldSSP Jerez, Spain - Free Practice Results (1)
1Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti Racing1:42.249s
2Manuel GonzalezSPAYamaha Parkingo Racing+0.432s
3Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corsa Clienti+0.525s
4Randy KrummenacherSWIEAB Racing Yamaha+0.583s
5Dominique AegerterSWITen Kate Racing Yamaha+0.785s
6Steven OdendaalSAEvan Bros Yamaha+0.813s
7Stefano ManziITAGMT94 Yamaha+1.154s
8Federico CaricasuloSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+1.201s
9Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+1.384s
10Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1.496s
11Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha+1.662s
12Marcel BrennerSUIVFT Racing Yamaha+1.793s
13Hannes SoomerESTKallio Racing Yamaha+1.822s
14Federico FuligniITAVFT Racing Yamaha+1.913s
15Peter SebestyenHUNEvan Bros Yamaha+1.957s
16Christoffer BergmanSWEWoicik Racing Yamaha+2.289s
17Vertti TakalaFINKallio Racing Yamaha+2.354s
18Kenan SofuogluTURKawasaki Puccetti Racing+2.466s
19Marc AlcobaSPAYamaha MS Racing+2.657s
20Martin VugrinecCROFerquest - Unior Racing Team+2.678s
21Unai OrradreSPAYamaha MS Racing+2.704s
22David Sanchis MartinezSPAWRP Wepol Yamaha Racing+2.827s
23Michel FabrizioITAG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+2.919s
24Kevin ManfrediITAAltogo Yamaha Racing+3.051s
25Glenn Van StraalenNEDEAB Racing Yamaha+3.193s
26Maria HerreraSPABiblion Yamaha Motoxracing+3.468s
27Stephane FrossardSWIJura Vitesse Moto Team Yamaha+3.970s
28Eduardo Montero HuertaSPADK Motorsport Yamaha+4.019s
29Galang Hendra PratamaINDTen Kate Racing Yamaha+4.056s
30Billy Van EerdeAUSIXS-Yart Yamaha+4.150s
31Ondrej VostatekCZEIXS-Yart Yamaha+4.319s
32Luigi MontellaITAChiodo Racing Yamaha+4.465s
33Shogo KawasakiJAPG.A.P Motozoo Puccetti Kawasaki Racing+4.584s
34Leonardo TacciniITAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+5.150s

After missing last weekend’s Catalan WorldSSP round due to a schedule clash with MotoE, championship leader Dominique Aegerter was back in action for Ten Kate Yamaha, while retired five-time series champion Sofuoglu made a sensational return to racing for one day only with Puccetti Kawasaki. 

Sofuoglu’s return with Puccetti is to celebrate the recent announcement that more models will be added to the list of homologated motorcycles for the championship in 2022. 

On-track, Oettl was the early pace setter from Aegerter and Randy Krummenacher. However, winner last time out Manuel Gonzalez then went fastest with five minutes left, while Federico Caricasulo crashed.  

Finnish rider Niki Tuuli went third overall before making that P2 on his very next effort before Oettl then set a stunning 1:42.249s to go over four tenths quicker than Gonzalez.

Read More