Tarran Mackenzie snatches a last-gasp victory from Josh Brookes after team-mate and title leader Jason O'Halloran crashes out of the race lead at the opening BSB Showdown event of the year, at Oulton Park.

Pole starter Brookes had successfully defended the early advantage from O'Halloran but was never able to break clear of the Yamaha rider, who surged past in the second half of the race.

Having done the hard work, disaster struck in the closing stages when O'Halloran crashed at Knickerbrook handing the lead - and potentially a first win of the season - to reigning champion Brookes.

But the battle wasn't over with Mackenzie, fourth at the midway stage before re-passing Christian Iddon, hunting down and sensationally overtaking the other VisionTrack Ducati of Brookes to win by just 0.087s!

All of which means O'Halloran's championship lead has been cut to just 5 points over Mackenzie. Iddon remains in third, but is a reduced 29 points from the top. Brookes moves up one place to seventh, 49 points from Mackenzie.... 

British Superbike, Oulton Park - Race Results (1)
1Tarran MackenzieGBR McAMS Yamaha14 laps
2Josh BrookesAUS VisionTrack Ducati+0.087s
3Christian IddonGBR VisionTrack Ducati+0.372s
4Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+0.396s
5Peter HickmanGBR FHO Racing BMW+5.925s
6Tommy BridewellGBR Oxford Products Racing Ducati+7.181s
7Danny BuchanGBR SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+11.476s
8Glenn IrwinGBR Honda Racing+12.087s
9Bradley RayGBR RICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+15.058s
10Storm StaceyGBR Team LKQ Euro Car Parts Kawasaki+17.796s
11Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+17.810s
12Dan LinfootGBR TAG Racing Honda+28.99s
13Kyle RydeGBR RICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+28.991s
14Dean HarrisonGBR Silicone Engineering Racing Kawasaki+29.360s
15Bjorn EstmentRSA Powerslide / Catfoss Racing Suzuki+32.997s
16Josh OwensGBR Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki+40.010s
17Andrew IrwinGBR SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+41.201s
18Ryo MizunoJPN Honda Racing+41.643s
19Michael DunlopGBR Buildbase Suzuki+44.001s
20Takumi TakahashiJPN Honda Racing+52.521s
 Jason O'HalloranAUS McAMS YamahaDNF
 Joe Sheldon-ShawGBR iForce Lloyd & Jones BMWDNF
 Brian McCormackIRL Roadhouse Macau By FHO Racing BMWDNF
 Gino ReaGBR Buildbase SuzukiDNF
 Ryan VickersGBR RAF Regular & Reserve KawasakiDNF