Having taken second place in the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship standings, Jason Plato has been named as the winner of the BRDC Silver Star for the third successive season - and a record-breaking fifth time overall.

The award is handed out each season to the most successful BRDC member racing at the highest level of national motorsport, with Plato coming out top amongst drivers from the BTCC, British F3 and British GT championships.

Using the BRDC's own scoring system, Plato picked up 212 points during a season where he won on seven occasions - including a dramatic hat-trick on the Brands Hatch GP circuit - to edge out new champion Colin Turkington by eight points. Plato's Racing Silverline team-mate Mat Jackson was an impressive third, despite missing the opening rounds of the campaign due to the late nature of his deal to join the RML-run outfit.

Plato will receive his Silver Star at the annual BRDC Awards in December. Other BTCC stars to have won the award in the past include James Thompson (twice), John Cleland and the late David Leslie.