Simon Harrison won the first ever BTC Production class Sprint race today from fellow HTML Peugeot 306 driver Roger Moen by just over 2 seconds.

Pole sitter Harrison kept his qualifying advantage over second place starter Moen around the Brands Hatch Indy circuit, setting the fastest lap on his way to victory.

The final podium position was taken by the Ford focus of Gareth Howell, who moved up from his seventh place qualifying position to finish ahead of GR Motorsport teammate Mat Jackson.

Of note was the performance of 17 year-old Tom Boardman who, having failed to record a time in qualifying yesterday, moved up through the field to finish an impressive eighth in his 306, after absorbing pressure from the Honda Accord of Peter Cate.

Main casualties were fourth and fifth placed qualifiers James Kaye and Paul O'Neill, with Andy Neate, Matt Kelly, Jim Edwards and Colin Blair also not finishing.

BTC Production class Sprint race classification:

1. Simon Harrison HTML Peugeot 306 29mins 33.197secs
2. Roger Moen HTML Peugeot 306 +2.001secs
3. Gareth Howell GR Motorsport Ford Focus +6.090secs
4. Mat Jackson GR Motorsport Ford Focus +8.074secs
5. Toni Ruokonen Cranfield Automotive Management Mitsubishi Carisma +15.534secs
6. Robert Collard Collard Racing Renault Clio +1.350secs
7. Gavin Pyper GA Janspeed Alfa Romeo 156 +25.205secs
8. Tom Boardman Driver Peugeot 306 +33.803secs
9. Peter Cate Barwell Motorsport Honda Accord +33.996secs
10. Dave Allan Synchro Motorsport Honda Accord +38.229secs
11. Nick Beaumont Team B & Q/Talksport Radio Honda Integra R +38.332secs
12. Rick Kraemer GR Motorsport Ford Focus +41.401secs
13. Richard Meins GR Motorsport Ford Focus +44.312secs
14. Annie Templeton Annie Templeton/Tech-Speed Motorsport Peugeot 306 +46.323secs
15. John B-and-Q Team B & Q/Talksport Radio Honda Integra R +1 Lap

Not classified:

James Kaye Barwell Motorsport Honda Accord 28 LapsAndy Neate Team CAM Mitsubishi Carisma 23 LapsMatt Kelly Bintcliffe Sport Racing Nissan Primera 13 LapsJim Edwards Jnr. T.C.R./Interactive Network Solutions (Ins Ltd) Honda Accord 7 LapsColin Blair GA Janspeed Alfa Romeo 156 7 LapsPaul O'Neill Paul O'Neill/Tech-Speed Motorsport Peugeot 306 0 Laps

Fastest Lap:

Simon Harrison HTML Peugeot 306 51.729secs