Formula 1 will race at Imola for a third consecutive year having not featured on the calendar since 2006 before that.

The iconic Italian venue threw up a fantastic event in 2021 which saw Max Verstappen win the race in tricky conditions, while Lewis Hamilton recovered from an off-track excursion to finish second.

Ferrari heads into this weekend’s Emila Romagna Grand Prix as the team to beat with Charles Leclerc 34 points clear of Mercedes’ George Russell in the drivers’ championship.

The Scuderia hasn’t won on home soil since 2019 and will be looking to do so in the first of two Italian races this campaign. 

F1’s sprint qualifying format also makes a return for this weekend’s grand prix.

Full race weekend schedule in UK (BST) time:

Friday, April 22

12:30pm to 1:30pm - Practice 1

4pm to 5pm - Qualifying

Saturday, April 23

11:30pm to 12:30pm - Practice 2

3:30pm to 4:30pm - Sprint Qualifying

Sunday, April 24

2pm to 4pm - Race

How can I watch on TV in the UK?

Sky Sports F1 is live on Friday April 22 at 12pm ahead of Practice 1, and at 3:25pm ahead of qualifying, then at 11am on Saturday April 23 for Practice 2.

Sprint qualifying build-up begins on Sky Sports F1 at 2:30pm on Saturday, April 23.

Channel 4 will show highlights from qualifying at 6:45pm 

Race build-up for the Australian Grand Prix begins at 12:30pm on Sunday, April 24 on Sky Sports F1.

Channel 4 will show race highlights at 6:30pm

How else can I follow the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix? 

Besides TV coverage, will be providing live text commentary of every practice, qualifying and race session in 2022.

Follow @CRASH_NET_F1 for the latest F1 news, analysis and paddock reaction.

Previous F1 Imola (Emilia Romagna / San Marino) winners: 

2021: Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

2020: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2007-2019: Not held

2006: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

2005: Fernando Alonso (Renault)

2004: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

2003: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

2002: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

2001: Ralf Schumacher (Williams)

2000: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

Most F1 Imola wins 

Michael Schumacher: 7 wins (1994, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2006)

Alain Prost: 3 wins (1984, 1986, 1993)

Ayrton Senna: 3 wins (1988, 1989, 1991)

Follow for all your motorsport live coverage, breaking news and expert analysis. We are your No 1 source for the big races in Formula 1, MotoGP, World Super Bikes, British Super Bikes, Indy Car, NASCAR, World Rally and every other major motorsport championship. will bring you lap-by-lap updates from the best races every weekend across two wheels and four wheels - we are your ultimate home of motorsport.

Full 2022 F1 calendar

March 18-20 - Round 1

Bahrain Grand Prix

March 25-27 - Round 2

Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

April 8-10 - Round 3

Australian Grand Prix

April 22-24 - Round 4

Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix

May 6-8 - Round 5

Miami Grand Prix

May 20-22 - Round 6

Spanish Grand Prix

May 27-29 - Round 7

Monaco Grand Prix

June 10-12 - Round 8

Azerbaijan Grand Prix

June 17-19 - Round 9

Canadian Grand Prix

July 1-3 - Round 10

British Grand Prix

July 8-10 - Round 11

Austrian Grand Prix

July 22-24 - Round 12

French Grand Prix

July 27-29 - Round 13

Hungarian Grand Prix

August 26-28 - Round 14

Belgian Grand Prix

September 2-4 - Round 15

Dutch Grand Prix

September 9-11 - Round 16

Italian Grand Prix

September 30-October 2 - Round 17

Singapore Grand Prix

October 7-9 - Round 18

Japanese Grand Prix

October 21-23 - Round 19

United States Grand Prix

October 28-30 - Round 20 

Mexican Grand Prix

November 11-13 - Round 21 

Brazilian Grand Prix

November 18-20 - Round 22

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix