For 2022, all 10 F1 teams are required to run a ‘rookie’ driver in at least two FP1 sessions during the year.

Vips is a member of Red Bull’s junior programme, currently competing in F2 with Hitech Grand Prix. 

The Estonian has endured a tricky opening start to the F2 campaign with just two podium finishes, leaving him eighth in the drivers’ standings overall.

Vips will replace Sergio Perez in FP1 and will give him the chance to impress alongside reigning F1 champion Max Verstappen at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. 

Fellow Red Bull junior Liam Lawson - who also competes in F2 - is expected to drive for AlphaTauri at some point in 2022.

Williams have already announced that reigning Formula E champion Nyck de Vries will drive for the team in first practice instead of Alex Albon.

De Vries is Mercedes’ reserve driver for this year and was heavily linked with a full-time switch to F1 with Williams at the end of 2021.

The Dutchman ultimately missed out on the drive at Albon’s expense, with de Vries continuing to compete in Formula E with Mercedes. 

Alfa Romeo have also announced that Robert Kubica will replace Guanyu Zhou in first practice on Friday.

Given Kubica’s experience in F1, this will not count towards Alfa Romeo’s mandatory requirement to run a rookie driver this season.

Frenchman Theo Pourchaire will likely get the call-up later in the season - he’s currently part of Sauber’s academy.