F1 stars win big at BRDC awards

F1 title winner Jenson Button and new McLaren team-mate Lewis Hamilton amongst winners at the annual BRDC Awards
F1 stars win big at BRDC awards

The British Racing Drivers' Club celebrated motor racing achievements of 2009 in style earlier this week when it hosted the BRDC Annual Awards Luncheon in London.

The ceremony was attended by motor racings finest while British Prime Minister, Gordon Brown appeared to present F1 champion Jenson Button with one of his awards - the Richard Seaman Trophy.

"We have a world champion in whom we have so much pride, who fought back against all the odds, who achieved something when some people thought at the beginning of the season it was impossible," Brown said. "Jenson, the whole country is proud of you. You are a brilliant ambassador for British sport."

Button collected no fewer than four awards - including the prestigious BRDC Gold Star, presented to him by ten-time BRDC Gold Star winner, Sir Stirling Moss OBE.

Button, however, wasn't the only driver being celebrated at the prestigious Awards ceremony. Dario Franchitti was presented with his first Gold Star after winning his second IndyCar Series Driver's Championship in 2009, while British Touring Car Championship driver Jason Plato was also in attendance to receive the BRDC's highest national racing accolade, the BRDC Silver Star.

The achievements of Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel were recognised, with the two drivers being awarded the John Cobb Trophy and Johnny Wakefield Trophy respectively.

Fellow F1 driver Mark Webber was honoured with both the Innes Ireland and Bruce McLaren Trophies while the successes of Ross Brawn and Adrian Newey were also recognised, with the duo being presented with the Colin Chapman Trophy (awarded to an individual who has shown great team spirit) and the Sir Jackie Stewart Award (presented to a motor sport engineer who has shown brilliance during the course of the season).

A new award, the Henry Surtees Award, was also introduced this year, recognising the most outstanding performance by a BRDC Rising Star. The inaugural winner of this award was Daniel Ricciardo, following his title-winning season in the British F3 Championship.

Full list of BRDC Awards winners:

BRDC Gold Star:
Jenson Button

BRDC Gold Star:
Dario Franchitti

BRDC Silver Star:
Jason Plato

The Bruce McLaren Trophy:
Mark WebberGiven to commenwealth driver who showed most meritorious performance in international motor racing
The Chris Bristow Trophy:
Dean SmithGiven to winner of the BRDC McLaren Autosport Young Driver of the Year award

The Colin Chapman Trophy:
Ross BrawnSpecial award given to individual to have shown great team spirit

The Earl Howe Trophy:
Dario FranchittiGiven to highest placed British driver in the Indianapolis 500

The ERA Club Trophy:
Jenson ButtonGiven to British driver in a British car to have produced most meritorious performance of the year outside the UK

The Fairfield Trophy:
David BrabhamGiven for outstanding performance by a BRDC member

The Graham Hill Trophy:
Jenson ButtonGiven for most meritorious performance from a British driver in single-seater racing

The Innes Ireland Trophy:
Mark WebberFor best displaying the qualities epitomised by the late Innes Ireland

The John Cobb Trophy:
Lewis HamiltonFor British driver in a British car who achieved success of outstanding character

The John Cooper Trophy:
Daniel RicciardoAwarded to British F3 runner to have shown potential as a future World Champion

The Johnny Wakefield Trophy:
Sebastian VettelFor the driver to have posted the quickest race lap on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit

The Nigel Moores Trophy:
Team RAC/West Surrey RacingAwarded to private team who has show most meritorious performance in international motor racing

The Richard Seaman Trophy:
Jenson ButtonAwarded to winner of the Gold Star points scoring system

The Silverstone Le Mans Challenge:
Jan Charouz, Tomas Enge and Stefan MuckeAwarded to drivers to have the highest combined finish in the Le Mans 24 Hours and Silverstone LMS race

The Sir Jackie Stewart Award:
Adrian NeweyGiven to motor sport engineer to how brilliance during the season

The Spencer Charrington Trophy:
Max ChiltonGiven to highest placed British driver in the British F3 International Series

The Woolf Barnato Trophy:
Jonny KaneGiven to highest placed British driver in a British car at the Le Mans 24 Hours

The ACO Award:
Allan McNishPresented to the highest placed British driver in the Le Mans 24 Hours

The Henry Surtees Award:
Daniel RicciardoAwarded for most outstanding performance by a rising star

Read More