John Grant has been elected to replace Stuart Rolt as chairman of the British Racing Drivers' Club during the Club's Annual General Meeting.

Having served the maximum nine-year term for a director, including two three-year stints as chairman, Rolt has now stepped down from his role on the board.

Grant takes up the role having previously been chairman of the MSA and a board member of the FIA's World Motor Sport Council.

"I am delighted that John Grant has been elected as BRDC Chairman," BRDC president Derek Warwick said. "He has considerable experience and enthusiasm for our sport, which will be key as the BRDC reverts to being the most prestigious racing drivers' Club in the world, nurturing future British motor racing talent."

"I cannot speak highly enough of Stuart and his commitment to the Club during his time as BRDC Chairman. The focus during his second term has been the search for investment, to help realise the full potential of Silverstone. We owe him an immense debt of gratitude for the time and energy he has put into this.

"It is a shame that his nine years as a director ends before we are able to announce details of a second investor in Silverstone. We have, however, asked Stuart to remain involved in the investment process, acting as an advisor to the board while the second deal is completed. He should feel proud of everything that he and the BRDC board have achieved over the last three years.

"The overwhelming support for both Stuart and the board at the recent AGM is testament to how united the Club is and how pleased we are with what he and the board have achieved."