Following a historic and frantic triple-header of races, Formula 1 returns from a weekend off for the German Grand Prix. 

After a season away, the German Grand Prix returns to the F1 calendar in 2018, with the Hockenheimring playing host to the race. 

Sebastian Vettel’s British Grand Prix moved him eight points clear of chief title rival Lewis Hamilton heading to the Ferrari driver’s home race. 

But Hamilton, who won the last German GP in 2016, will be looking to get one over on Vettel after being unable to deny him the win on home soil at Silverstone. Will Hockenheim provide another twist in the ever-changing championship picture?

When is the German Grand Prix?

The 2018 German Grand Prix takes place on Sunday 22 July. Cars will hit the track for the first time during FP1 and FP2 on Friday, before final practice and qualifying continues on Saturday. 

Where is the German Grand Prix taking place?

The German Grand Prix is held at the Hockenheimring near the town of Hockenheim. The track is 2.842s miles long and comprises of 67 laps. 

Where can I watch the German Grand Prix?

The 2018 German Grand Prix is being shown exclusively live on Sky Sports F1 (UK only).

Friday 20th July 

LIVE Sky Sports F1 German GP FP1 - 09.45am

LIVE Sky Sports F1 German GP FP2 - 1.45pm 

Saturday 21st July

LIVE Sky Sports F1 German GP FP3 - 10.45am

LIVE Sky Sports F1 German GP Qualifying build-up - 1pm (session start 2pm)

Sunday 22nd July 

LIVE Sky Sports F1 German GP Pit Lane LIVE - 12.30pm

LIVE Sky Sports F1 German GP On the Grid - 1.30pm

LIVE Sky Sports F1 German GP race - 2.10pm

How else can I follow the 2018 Austrian Grand Prix?

Besides the TV coverage, will be reporting live from the Hockenheim paddock this weekend with live commentary from all sessions, plus the usual news, interviews and features. 

Updates will also be posted to's F1 Twitter account (@CRASH_NET_F1), and you can also follow our on-site reporter Luke Smith (@LukeSmithF1) for more information. 

Recent German F1 Winners 

2016: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2014: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

2013: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)

2012: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)

2011: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)

2010: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)

2009: Mark Webber (Red Bull)

2008: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)

2006: Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)

2005: Fernando Alonso (Renault)

Where can I watch Formula 1 in 2018?

ALL F1 races, qualifying and practice sessions will be shown LIVE on Sky Sports F1 in the UK, with Channel 4 dual-broadcasting a selection of races LIVE on terrestrial television.

25 March Australian Grand Prix

8 April Bahrain Grand Prix

15 April Chinese Grand Prix

29 April Azerbaijan Grand Prix

13 May Spanish Grand Prix

27 May Monaco Grand Prix

10 June Canadian Grand Prix

24 June French Grand Prix

1 July Austrian Grand Prix

8 July British Grand Prix

22 July German Grand Prix

29 July Hungarian Grand Prix

26 August Belgian Grand Prix 

2 September Italian Grand Prix

16 September Singapore Grand Prix

30 September Russian Grand Prix 

7 October Japanese Grand Prix

21 October United States Grand Prix

28 October Mexican Grand Prix

11 November Brazilian Grand Prix

25 November Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

German GP Records