For the first time in its history, Formula E will take to Cape Town in South Africa, as well as Seoul in South Korea. 

Formula E’s calendar for season eight is 16-rounds, taking place in 12 different cities around the world.

The 2022 season opener will once again take place under the lights at Diriyah in Saudi Arabia, before heading to Mexico City on February 12.

Cape Town will host South Africa’s inaugural ePrix on February 26, while the location for China’s race is still unconfirmed.

Rome, Monaco and Berlin remain on the calendar, just before round nine, which is yet to be confirmed.

Formula E heads to Vancouver on July 2 before a double-header in New York.

The season finishes with a double-header in London, then South Korea’s two races in Seoul. 

The all-electric series plans to return to Paris in 2023, becoming a biannual event.

Speaking of the news, Formula E co-founder Alberto Longo said: “In Formula E’s short history, we have always looked to grow the championship and our reach. Next season is set to be another landmark for the series with a record number of races and incredible new cities backing Formula E and our electric movement.

“To be returning racing to South Africa, along with the likes of Vancouver and Seoul, is a huge achievement for the series, on top of expanding Monaco to an annual event. As our last season with the Gen2 car, it promises to be one of the most exciting yet and lay the foundations for the all-new Gen3 era in season nine.” 

Formula E returns to action this weekend with a double-header in New York.

Edoardo Mortara leads the drivers' championship by 10 points after back-to-back top three finishes at the Puebla ePrix.

Robin Frijns sits second ahead of Antonio Felix da Costa and Rene Rast.

Mitch Evans and the two Mercedes drivers of Nyck de Vries and Stoffel Vandoorne complete the top seven in the standings.

After New York, Formula E heads to London for a double-header, before going to Berlin for the finale.