Ex-Formula 1 driver Marcus Ericsson will remain in the NTT IndyCar Series for the 2020 season after signing a deal with Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ericsson moved into IndyCar for 2019 after losing his Sauber Formula 1 seat to Kimi Raikkonen, signing with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports. The Swede scored his first podium in Detroit and scored two further top-10 finishes en route to 17th in the final standings.

Ericsson's future with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports was thrown into doubt after it announced it would be linking up with McLaren for 2020, but will now move across to Chip Ganassi Racing as the team expands to a three-car entry. Ericsson will race alongside five-time IndyCar champion Scott Dixon and 2019 Rookie of the Year Felix Rosenqvist.

"First of all I’m extremely happy and proud to get the opportunity to join Chip Ganassi Racing. It’s a team of winners and their history speaks for itself," Ericsson said.

"I’m very thankful that they believe in me and I will do everything I can to make 2020 another successful year for the team. I’m also very excited to work with two of the best drivers in the series in Scott and Felix. I’m looking forward to putting what I’ve learned this year to use in my second year in the NTT IndyCar Series."

Team owner Chip Ganassi added: "I think Marcus brings a lot of unique experience with him having competed in several championships around the world. When you have someone with that type of background, it gives him other points of reference that helps his ability to develop and add to the overall racing programme.

"We’re looking forward to seeing what Marcus can do alongside Scott and Felix."