The MotoGP riders will have a little extra motivation for Sunday's Japanese Grand Prix at Motegi, since it will mark the 700th premier-class race since the world championships began in 1949.

From 1949-2001 the premier-class consisted of 500cc machines, with the capacity increased to 990cc for four-strokes in 2002.

That change only lasted five years, with the capacity then cut to 800cc at the start of 2007.

The landmark race winners since 1949 are listed below:

Race 1: June 1949 - Great Britain, IOM TT
The first 500cc GP is won by Harold Daniell riding a factory Norton.

Race 100: August 1962 - East Germany, Sachsenring
Mike Hailwood (MV Agusta) wins the 100th race in the premier-class.

Race 200: June 1972 - Dutch TT, Assen
Giacomo Agostini wins the 200th race riding an MV Agusta.

Race 300: August 1981 - Sweden, Anderstorp
Barry Sheene wins the 300th GP riding a Yamaha, this race remains the most recent premier-class win by a British rider.

Race 400: July 1989 - France, Le Mans
Eddie Lawson riding a Honda wins the 400th GP in the premier-class.

Race 500: September 1996 - Italy, Imola
Mick Doohan (Honda) takes victory in a race cut short due to a rain shower.

Race 600: May 2003 - France, Le Mans
Sete Gibernau wins after a great battle with fellow Honda rider Valentino Rossi in a shortened race after the race had been stopped due to rain.

Race 700: April 2009 - Motegi, Japan