2020 MotoE San Marino - Race Results

Defending champion Matteo Ferrari shrugged off a grid penalty to fight his way back and claim his first MotoE World Cup win of the season at Misano.

A double winner at the Rimini circuit a year ago - victories that set him on the path to lift the inaugural title crown - Ferrari came into the race starting fourth despite qualifying on pole position, the consequence of being blamed for a collision with Eric Granado back in Jerez.

Nonetheless, he started confidently and steadily picked his way back up the order, rising to second on lap three of seven, before snatching the lead from Mattia Casadei with three to go.

From here he protected his advantage on the Gresini bike, leading a train of six riders across the line to give his title aspirations a welcome shot in the arm.

Former MotoGP rider Xavier Simeon collected his third career MotoE podium with a fighting ride to second,, while championship leader Dominique Aegerter protected his advantage at the head of the standings with a fine pass for third on the final lap.

The Swiss rider has extended his advantage to 12 points over Ferrari now in second place with five races to go, including two more at Misano next weekend.

Jordi Torres remains in the hunt for the title honours too, 13 points adrift of Aegerter, after following his rival through for fourth at the expense of Casadei, who had to settle for fifth having led the majority of the race from the start.

Mike di Meglio was sixth after catching the lead group too late in the closing stages, while Alessandro Zaccone, Alex de Angelis, Tommaso Marcon and Granado - who started last - completed the top ten.