2022 Austin MotoGP, COTA - Free Practice (4) Results

Free Practice (4) results from the Austin MotoGP at the Circuit of the Americas, round 4 of the 2022 world championship.
Francesco Bagnaia, Grand Prix of the Americas, 9 April
Francesco Bagnaia, Grand Prix of the Americas, 9 April
Austin MotoGP, COTA - Free Practice (4) Results
1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)2'02.983s9/13339k
2Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.132s9/12342k
3Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)+0.186s7/10346k
4Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.376s9/12331k
5Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.390s10/12344k
6Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.438s9/12345k
7Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.553s9/12338k
8Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.692s9/13340k
9Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.723s9/12340k
10Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.729s8/10335k
11Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.909s10/12340k
12Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.912s10/12341k
13Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.069s10/11329k
14Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+1.158s7/10339k
15Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+1.303s6/14336k
16Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.319s9/13338k
17Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*+1.371s9/10338k
18Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.438s5/12335k
19Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.555s9/13331k
20Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)+1.556s11/12331k
21Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.890s4/12329k
22Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*+2.149s12/13339k
23Raul FernandezSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+2.241s7/10330k
24Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP21)*+2.391s5/9334k

* Rookie

Fastest Practice time:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 2m 2.361s

Official COTA MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 2m 2.135s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 2m 3.575s (2014)

Francesco Bagnaia sets the pace from Enea Bastianini and Marc Marquez during final practice for the Americas MotoGP in Austin, Texas, a session that saw most riders gathering data on the endurance of the soft rear tyre.

While the hard front tyre is the obvious choice for the race, the rear is less clear. The soft offers a notable performance advantage but, unlike the medium, comes with the risk of a big drop in grip in the closing stages.

Qualifying 1 - for those outside the top ten after third free practice, including Alex Rins, Aleix Espargaro, Maverick Vinales and Jorge Martin - will now get underway.

Marc Marquez is returning to action after missing the Mandalika race and following Argentine weekend due to a new episode of double vision caused by his huge warm-up accident in Indonesia.

COTA is one of his most successful circuits, having won seven of the eight MotoGP races held at the Texan track, falling while leading in 2019, when Suzuki's Alex Rins took victory.

Subsurface soil movement means large bumps have been a persistent issue at COTA, resulting in the latest partial resurfacing for the 2022 event, covering Turns 2-10 and 12-16.

Track schedule in UK time - 2022 Austin MotoGP

3pm-3.40pm: Moto2 Free Practice 1
3.55pm-4.40pm: MotoGP Free Practice 1
4.55pm-5.35pm: Moto3 Free Practice 3

7.15pm-7.55pm: Moto2 Free Practice 2
8.10pm-8.55pm: MotoGP Free Practice 2
9.10pm-9.50pm: Moto3 Free Practice 2

3pm-3.40pm: Moto2 Free Practice 3
3.55pm-4.40pm: MotoGP Free Practice 3
4.55pm-5.35pm: Moto3 Free Practice 3

6.35pm-6.50pm: Moto2 Qualifying 1
7pm-7.15pm: Moto2 Qualifying 2
7.30pm-8pm: MotoGP Free Practice 4
8.10pm-8.25pm: MotoGP Qualifying 1

8.35pm-8.50pm: MotoGP Qualifying 2
9.10pm-9.25pm: Moto3 Qualifying 1
9.35pm-9.50pm: Moto3 Qualifying 2

3.20pm-3.30pm: Moto2 warm-up
3.40pm-4pm: MotoGP warm-up
4.10-4.20pm: Moto3 warm-up

5.20pm: Moto2 race
7pm: MotoGP race
8.30pm: Moto3 race

Termas: MotoGP World Championship standings
Pos RiderNatTeamPointsDiff.
1^5Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)45 
2=Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)38(-7)
3˅2Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)36(-9)
4^4Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)36(-9)
5˅2Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)35(-10)
6^3Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)33(-12)
7˅3Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)28(-17)
8˅3Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)24(-21)
9NAJorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)20(-25)
10^5Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)20(-25)
11=Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)15(-30)
12˅2Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)14(-31)
13^3Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)13(-32)
14^6Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)12(-33)
15˅3Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)11(-34)
16˅2Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)10(-35)
17˅2Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)10(-35)
18NAMarco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*7(-38)
19=Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*6(-39)
20˅3Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)4(-41)
21˅3Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)2(-43)
22˅3Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*1(-44)

Read More