MotoGP champion Marc Marquez continues his unbeaten 2014 run to eight in a row despite chaotic weather during Saturday's Dutch TT at Assen.

A match for Marquez in the early wet laps, Andrea Dovizioso led the dry middle stages of the race on his way to a best Ducati finish of second.

Dani Pedrosa spent much of the grand prix battling with debut pole sitter Aleix Espargaro before pulling away to confirm third.

A brief but heavy rain shower delayed the start of the race, which began with most riders on wet tyres.

However the track rapidly began to dry and pit stops, to change to bikes fitted with slick tyres, began after 5 of 26 laps.

Valentino Rossi (12th on grid) intended to gamble on slicks for the start, but a further shower on the sighting lap saw Rossi pull in, change to his wet bike and begin the race from the end of pit lane...

1.Marc MarquezESPRepsol Honda Team (RC213V)43m 29.954s2.Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (Desmosedici)43m 36.668s3.Dani PedrosaESPRepsol Honda Team (RC213V)43m 40.745s4.Aleix EspargaroESPNGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)43m 49.153s5.Valentino RossiITAMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)43m 55.767s6.Andrea IannoneITAPramac Racing (Desmosedici)43m 58.957s7.Alvaro BautistaESPGo&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V)44m 0.836s8.Bradley SmithGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)44m 0.939s9.Cal CrutchlowGBRDucati Team (Desmosedici)44m 13.985s10.Stefan BradlGERLCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V)44m 18.616s11.Broc ParkesAUSPaul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART)*44m 21.817s12.Scott ReddingGBRGo&Fun Honda Gresini (RCV1000R)*44m 30.283s13.Jorge LorenzoESPMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)44m 34.595s14.Karel AbrahamCZECardion AB Motoracing (RCV1000R)44m 35.934s15.Danilo PetrucciITAIodaRacing Project (ART)44m 47.565s16.Hiroshi AoyamaJPNDrive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R)44m 49.707s17.Nicky HaydenUSADrive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R)44m 57.584s18.Hector BarberaESPAvintia Racing (Avintia)44m 58.096s19.Yonny HernandezCOLPramac Racing (Desmosedici)43m 41.754s20.Mike Di MeglioFRAAvintia Racing (Avintia)*43m 58.159s21.Michael LavertyGBRPaul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART)44m 49.966s22.Colin EdwardsUSANGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)43m 33.704s
Pol EspargaroESPMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)*DNF

Blue Name = Factory - Control ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
20 litres of race fuel, 5 engine changes for the season. All engines identical throughout the year within the same team (development freeze).Black Name = Factory (with concessions) - Control ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
Applicable to Factory entries by a manufacturer that did not achieve a dry win in 2013 (only Ducati) plus any new MotoGP manufacturers.
Same 24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes, softer rear tyre, no engine development freeze and extra testing opportunities as the Open Category. Fuel to be reduced to 22 litres should Ducati achieve a race win, two second places or three (dry) podiums. If Ducati claims three wins they will also lose the softer rear tyre. All other concessions confirmed until start of single ECU era in 2016.Red Name = Open - Full control ECU system, hardware and software.
24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes, softer rear tyre, no engine development freeze and greater testing opportunities relative to Factory.* Rookie

Keep up to speed by following the new MotoGP Twitter account


Loading Comments...