Marc Marquez is the 2016 MotoGP world champion, after victory at Motegi was combined with accidents for title rivals Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo.

Rossi fell from second early in the race, while pushing to catch Marquez, with Lorenzo - sore from his massive Saturday highside - sliding-off while under pressure for the runner-up spot from Andrea Dovizioso with four laps to go.

Suzuki's Maverick Vinales completed the podium, after passing team-mate Aleix Espargaro.

Marquez now joins Lorenzo as a triple MotoGP world champion.

Marquez's team-mate Dani Pedrosa fractured his right collarbone in a huge Friday practice highside and was replaced for the remainder of the weekend by HRC test rider Hiroshi Aoyama.

Andrea Iannone missed his third race in a row following a back injury at Misano. His factory seat has been taken by Hector Barbera, with 2015 Australian SBK champion Mike Jones drafted in for a MotoGP debut at Avintia.

Bradley Smith and Jack Miller returned from injury, while Yamaha test rider Katsuyuki Nakasuga made a wild-card appearance...

1.Marc MarquezESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)42m 34.610s2.Andrea DoviziosoITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP)42m 37.602s3.Maverick Vi?alesESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)42m 38.714s4.Aleix EspargaroESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)42m 39.336s5.Cal CrutchlowGBR LCR Honda (RC213V)42m 49.659s6.Pol EspargaroESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)42m 54.264s7.Alvaro BautistaESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)42m 57.642s8.Danilo PetrucciITA Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)43m 3.165s9.Scott ReddingGBR Octo Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)43m 3.412s10.Stefan BradlGER Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)43m 6.940s11.Katsuyuki NakasugaJPN Yamalube Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1)43m 17.455s12.Yonny HernandezCOL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)43m 26.829s13.Bradley SmithGBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)43m 28.393s14.Tito RabatESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)*43m 29.370s15.Hiroshi AoyamaJPN Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)43m 34.765s16.Loris BazFRA Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)43m 39.050s17.Hector BarberaESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP)44m 17.576s18.Mike JonesAUS Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)+1 lap
Jorge LorenzoESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)DNF
Valentino RossiITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)DNF
Jack MillerAUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)DNF
Eugene LavertyIRL Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)DNF

Blue Name = No Concessions.
7 engine changes for the season. Engines must be identical throughout season within same team (development freeze). 5 days of private testing.Black Name = Concessions.
9 engine changes. No engine development freeze. Unlimited private testing.* Rookie

Live Updates: Follow @Crash_MotoGP

By Peter McLaren