Andrea Dovizioso turns the tables on title rival Marc Marquez to lead FP2 at the Japanese MotoGP, morning leader Marquez falling while pushing to beat the Italian's tine in the closing minutes...

Jack Miller is missing the event after breaking his right tibia in a trials incident on September 29 and is replaced by HRC test rider Hiroshi Aoyama.

Tech 3's Jonas Folger has returned to Germany to undergo tests for a suspected recurrence of the Epstein Barr virus and has been replaced by Kohta Nozane.

Fellow Yamaha test rider Katsuyuki Nakasuga is competing as a wild-card…

1. ^4 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 54.877s [Lap 7/17] 296km/h (Max)
2. ˅1 Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 54.920s +0.043s [14/16] 296km/h
3. ˅1 Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 55.061s +0.184s [16/16] 297km/h
4. = Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 55.234s +0.357s [16/18] 294km/h
5. ^1 Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 55.468s +0.591s [12/18] 297km/h
6. ^6 Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (GP17) 1m 55.541s +0.664s [17/19] 299km/h
7. ^6 Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 55.614s +0.737s [16/20] 297km/h
8. ^12 Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 55.773s +0.896s [20/20] 283km/h
9. ˅2 Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 56.149s +1.272s [12/19] 295km/h
10. ˅2 Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 56.229s +1.352s [14/18] 295km/h
11. ˅2 Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 56.376s +1.499s [16/18] 295km/h
12. ^7 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 56.435s +1.558s [18/18] 293km/h
13. ^2 Kohta Nozane JPN Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 56.453s +1.576s [12/18] 291km/h
14. ˅11 Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (GP16) 1m 56.680s +1.803s [10/13] 295km/h
15. ^7 Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (GP15) 1m 56.776s +1.899s [13/16] 291km/h
16. ^1 Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar (GP16) 1m 56.827s +1.950s [11/21] 293km/h
17. ˅7 Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 56.853s +1.976s [15/15] 287km/h
18. ˅7 Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 56.872s +1.995s [14/15] 296km/h
19. ˅1 Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m 57.250s +2.373s [16/17] 290km/h
20. ˅4 Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia (GP15) 1m 57.259s +2.382s [14/17] 288km/h
21. ˅7 Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 57.540s +2.663s [18/20] 298km/h
22. ^2 Hiroshi Aoyama JPN EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 57.548s +2.671s [18/18] 297km/h
23. ˅2 Tito Rabat ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 57.645s +2.768s [18/20] 291km/h
24. ˅1 Katsuyuki Nakasuga JPN Yamaha Factory (YZR-M1) 1m 58.341s +3.464s [8/17] 294km/h

* Rookie
˄X Up X places from FP1.
= Rider has the same position as FP1.
˅X Down X places from FP1.

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

Fastest FP1 time:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 55.418s (wet)
Official Motegi MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 43.790s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 45.350s (2015)


By Peter McLaren