Marc Marquez dominates soaking wet session, which saw Cal Crutchlow fall and take down Jorge Lorenzo in the closing stages.

Jack Miller is missing the event after breaking his right tibia in a trials incident on September 29 and is replaced by HRC test rider Hiroshi Aoyama.

Tech 3's Jonas Folger has returned to Germany to undergo tests for a suspected recurrence of the Epstein Barr virus and has been replaced by Kohta Nozane.

Fellow Yamaha test rider Katsuyuki Nakasuga is competing as a wild-card…

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 55.418s [Lap 15/19] 294km/h (Max)
2. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 56.293s +0.875s [13/16] 287km/h
3. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (GP16) 1m 56.517s +1.099s [10/15] 289km/h
4. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 56.653s +1.235s [12/12] 289km/h
5. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 56.664s +1.246s [16/16] 290km/h
6. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 56.865s +1.447s [13/13] 291km/h
7. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 56.875s +1.457s [12/13] 289km/h
8. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 56.906s +1.488s [15/17] 295km/h
9. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 56.917s +1.499s [16/18] 290km/h
10. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 57.305s +1.887s [14/17] 288km/h
11. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 57.548s +2.130s [12/17] 286km/h
12. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (GP17) 1m 57.633s +2.215s [12/14] 296km/h
13. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 57.746s +2.328s [9/15] 285km/h
14. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 57.748s +2.330s [15/17] 287km/h
15. Kohta Nozane JPN Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 57.849s +2.431s [12/17] 289km/h
16. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia (GP15) 1m 58.280s +2.862s [14/16] 289km/h
17. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar (GP16) 1m 58.373s +2.955s [15/20] 287km/h
18. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m 58.504s +3.086s [13/13] 289km/h
19. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 58.618s +3.200s [15/15] 288km/h
20. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 58.706s +3.288s [13/14] 285km/h
21. Tito Rabat ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 58.921s +3.503s [14/17] 294km/h
22. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (GP15) 1m 59.098s +3.680s [13/16] 287km/h
23. Katsuyuki Nakasuga JPN Yamaha Factory (YZR-M1) 1m 59.188s +3.770s [10/16] 289km/h
24. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 59.205s +3.787s [13/16] 291km/h
* Rookie

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

Official Motegi MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 43.790s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 45.350s (2015)

By Peter McLaren



Loading Comments...