Marc Marquez wins a thrilling Australian MotoGP at Phillip Island as the Yamahas of Valentino Rossi, Maverick Vinales and Johann Zarco fight to the line for second.

A bad race for Andrea Dovizioso, after running wide early on, means Marquez's title lead has grown to 33 points with two rounds remaining.

Home star Jack Miller was returning to action after breaking his right tibia in a trials accident on September 29.

Tech 3's Jonas Folger returned to Germany on the eve of the Motegi round to undergo tests for a suspected recurrence of the Epstein Barr virus and was replaced this weekend by Broc Parkes.

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 40m 49.772s
2. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 40m 51.571s
3. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 40m 51.598s
4. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 40m 51.614s
5. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 40m 53.617s
6. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 40m 53.643s
7. Jack Miller AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 40m 55.391s
8. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 41m 1.980s
9. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 41m 6.023s
10. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 41m 6.034s
11. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (GP16) 41m 11.424s
12. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 41m 11.440s
13. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 41m 11.464s
14. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (GP15) 41m 15.882s
15. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP17) 41m 15.940s
16. Tito Rabat ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 41m 16.024s
17. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar (GP16) 41m 26.149s
18. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia (GP15) 41m 29.426s
19. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 41m 30.172s
20. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia (GP16) 41m 35.673s
21. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (GP17) 41m 38.540s
22. Broc Parkes JPN Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 41m 47.483s
Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) DNF
* Rookie

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

By Peter McLaren