Marc Marquez leads morning warm-up for the Australian MotoGP at Phillip Island, big step in the wet by Maverick Vinales and Dani Pedrosa.

Home star Jack Miller is returning to action after breaking his right tibia in a trials accident on September 29.

Tech 3's Jonas Folger returned to Germany on the eve of the Motegi round to undergo tests for a suspected recurrence of the Epstein Barr virus and is replaced this weekend by Broc Parkes.

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 39.085s [Lap 9/12] 316km/h (Top Speed)
2. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 39.322s +0.237s [10/12] 320km/h
3. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 39.512s +0.427s [9/11] 296km/h
4. Jack Miller AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 39.975s +0.890s [10/10] 306km/h
5. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 40.001s +0.916s [6/12] 317km/h
6. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 40.089s +1.004s [4/12] 318km/h
7. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (GP17) 1m 40.182s +1.097s [7/12] 325km/h
8. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m 40.188s +1.103s [10/10] 305km/h
9. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 40.193s +1.108s [9/12] 316km/h
10. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 40.256s +1.171s [7/12] 313km/h
11. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (GP15) 1m 40.301s +1.216s [8/11] 308km/h
12. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 40.545s +1.460s [5/10] 313km/h
13. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 40.593s +1.508s [9/9] 314km/h
14. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia (GP15) 1m 40.854s +1.769s [9/9] 312km/h
15. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 40.901s +1.816s [7/10] 313km/h
16. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 40.934s +1.849s [6/11] 316km/h
17. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar (GP16) 1m 41.014s +1.929s [8/12] 308km/h
18. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 41.041s +1.956s [8/12] 316km/h
19. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 41.131s +2.046s [10/12] 312km/h
20. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (GP16) 1m 41.161s +2.076s [8/9] 303km/h
21. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 41.359s +2.274s [6/10] 314km/h
22. Broc Parkes JPN Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 42.491s +3.406s [8/12] 302km/h
23. Tito Rabat ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 42.524s +3.439s [8/8] 295km/h
* Rookie

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

Pole position time:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 28.386s
Official Phillip Island MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 28.108s (2013)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 27.899s (2013)

By Peter McLaren