Marc Marquez takes pole position for the Australian MotoGP ahead of Johann Zarco and Maverick Vinales.

Marquez's title rival Andrea Dovizioso could only manage eleventh on the grid.

Valentino Rossi and Bradley Smith progressed through Qualifying 1.

Home star Jack Miller is returning to action after breaking his right tibia in a trials accident on September 29.

Tech 3's Jonas Folger returned to Germany on the eve of the Motegi round to undergo tests for a suspected recurrence of the Epstein Barr virus and is replaced this weekend by Broc Parkes.

Qualifying 2:
1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 28.386s [Lap 7/8] 336km/h (Max)
2. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 28.719s +0.333s [8/9] 337km/h
3. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 28.744s +0.358s [6/8] 337km/h
4. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 28.937s +0.551s [3/8] 338km/h
5. Jack Miller AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 28.964s +0.578s [3/8] 336km/h
6. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 29.030s +0.644s [8/8] 340km/h
7. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 29.203s +0.817s [7/8] 336km/h
8. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 29.271s +0.885s [9/9] 336km/h
9. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 29.321s +0.935s [7/8] 338km/h
10. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 29.429s +1.043s [3/5] 336km/h
11. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 29.496s +1.110s [8/9] 337km/h
12. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 29.546s +1.160s [4/9] 328km/h

Qualifying 1:
13. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 29.824s 335km/h
14. Tito Rabat ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 29.847s 334km/h
15. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (GP15) 1m 29.961s 342km/h
16. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 30.085s 333km/h
17. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia (GP15) 1m 30.224s 334km/h
18. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (GP17) 1m 30.471s 338km/h
19. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 30.543s 342km/h
20. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (GP16) 1m 30.806s 330km/h
21. Broc Parkes JPN Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 30.889s 330km/h
22. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar (GP16) 1m 30.900s 341km/h
23. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m 31.158s 328km/h
* Rookie

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

Fastest practice time:
Aleix Espargaro SPA Honda 1m 29.225s
(FP2) Official Phillip Island MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 28.108s (2013)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 27.899s (2013)

By Peter McLaren