Dovizioso wins a thrilling season-opening Qatar MotoGP night race after another showdown with Marquez, decided in the Italian's favour at the very final corner - just like last year!

Crutchlow completed a close podium in his first race since last October's serious ankle injuries as just 0.6s covered the top five riders, from Dovizioso to Rossi, who started from 13th.

Miller's seat foam came loose early in the race and he had to throw it off the bike, and later retired.

Rookie Quartararo was devastated to stall on the grid, forcing him to start from pit lane instead of fifth, but mounted a strong comeback.

Smith was making his Aprilia race debut as a wild-card.

CLICK HERE for live updates

  1. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP19) 42m 36.902s
  2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 42m 36.925s
  3. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 42m 37.222s
  4. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 42m 37.359s
  5. Valentino Rossi ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 42m 37.502s
  6. Danilo Petrucci ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP19) 42m 39.222s
  7. Maverick Viñales ESP Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 42m 39.383s
  8. Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 42m 41.990s
  9. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 42m 44.308s
  10. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 42m 46.538s
  11. Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1) 42m 46.549s
  12. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 42m 49.676s
  13. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 42m 51.209s
  14. Andrea Iannone ITA Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 42m 51.251s
  15. Johann Zarco FRA Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 42m 51.995s
  16. Fabio Quartararo FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1)* 42m 52.807s
  17. Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)* 42m 53.279s
  18. Karel Abraham CZE Reale Avintia (Desmosedici GP18) 42m 59.874s
  19. Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (Desmosedici GP18) 42m 59.941s
  20. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16) 43m 20.144s
    Bradley Smith GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) DNF
    Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (Desmosedici GP19) DNF
    Francesco Bagnaia ITA Pramac Ducati (Desmosedici GP18)* DNF


By Peter McLaren