Marquez wins a delayed Czech Republic MotoGP at Brno, his sixth victory of the season and 50th in the premier-class.

A surprise rain shower an hour before the start left the final corner, home straight and first turn soaking wet, but the rest of the circuit bone dry. The outcome was to postpone the start by 35mins.

Damp patches remained when the race got underway, on slicks, with Marquez, Dovizioso, Rins and Miller soon forming a breakaway lead group.

Marquez put the hammer down with 9 laps to go, pulling clear of the Italian, as Miller snatched third from Rins on the penultimate lap.

Vinales' chances were ruined by a poor start while Zarco, Morbidelli and Mir tangled on the opening lap - leaving both the Petronas Yamaha and Suzuki on the ground.

Jorge Lorenzo was again absent after fractures to his vertebrae at Assen and replaced by HRC test and wild-card rider Bradl, while Suzuki test rider Guintoli had his latest wild-card entry.

An official test will be held at Brno on Monday.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Czech Republic MotoGP - Race Results
1Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)39m 24.43s
2Andrea DoviziosoITAMission Winnow Ducati (GP19)+2.452s
3Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+3.497s
4Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+4.858s
5Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+6.007s
6Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+9.083s
7Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+12.092s
8Danilo PetrucciITAMission Winnow Ducati (GP19)+13.976s
9Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+15.724s
10Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+16.558s
11Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+18.234s
12Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+19.738s
13Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+22.539s
14Johann ZarcoFRARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+30.459s
15Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+30.500s
16Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+30.755s
17Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+37.170s
18Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+37.343s
19Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+44.296s
20Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+48.938s
 Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)DNF
 Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)DNF
 Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*DNF

* Rookie.

Fastest Practice Time:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 55.802s (FP2)

Official Brno MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda1m 54.596s (2016)
Fastest race lap:
Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda1m 56.027s (2014)

By Peter McLaren



Loading Comments...