A wet session - delayed due to standing water - which meant no changes to the top ten riders receiving direct access to the second and final part of today's qualifying.

Miller had a technical problem that kept him in the pits for much of the session.

Guintoli is making his latest Suzuki wild-card appearance, while Nakagami is taking part in his final event of the season before undergoing shoulder surgery. He will be replaced at the following 2019 rounds by Johann Zarco.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Japanese MotoGP - Free Practice (3) Results
1Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)1'54.710s15/15300k
2Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.174s8/16299k
3Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.465s18/19294k
4Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.748s18/19295k
5Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.880s9/15298k
6Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+1.012s12/18303k
7Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+1.086s18/18298k
8Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+1.101s18/19293k
9Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+1.114s12/14294k
10Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.150s18/19294k
11Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+1.262s18/18300k
12Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.520s14/18292k
13Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+1.533s19/19295k
14Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.687s12/14293k
15Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.827s17/18294k
16Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+2.099s15/17298k
17Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+2.102s18/18293k
18Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+2.130s7/9299k
19Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+2.466s18/19301k
20Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+2.516s13/16294k
21Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+2.845s13/18293k
22Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+2.895s15/15295k
23Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+3.911s12/17296k

* Rookie.

Riders going directly to Qualifying 2 - Top 10 Combined Practice Times:
1Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*
2Maverick VinalesESPMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)
3Marc MarquezESPRepsol Honda (RC213V)
4Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)
5Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)
6Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)
7Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)
8Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)
9Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*
10Aleix EspargaroESPFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)

Fastest Friday Time:

Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 44.764s

Official Motegi MotoGP records:

Best lap: Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 43.790s (2015)

Fastest race lap: Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 45.350s (2014)

By Peter McLaren