Vinales dominates the Malaysian MotoGP at Sepang for his and Yamaha's second victory of the season, building a crucial early lead and then staying out of Marquez's reach.

Marquez made swift progress from 11th on the grid, but a tussle with Miller allowed Vinales to gain breathing room.

Dovizioso took the final podium place after keeping Rossi and Rins at bay.

Front row starters Morbidelli and Quartararo were unable to make an impression at the sharp end after losing ground on the opening lap.

Miller had contact with Rins as he faded back to eighth.

Zarco was taken out of eighth by the other Suzuki of Mir, who received a long lap penalty.

Tito Rabat was absent due to his hand injury from Motegi.

Oliveira tried to return after wrist injuries at Phillip Island, but stopped after just four laps in FP1 and missed the rest of the weekend.

Zarco was making the second of his three appearances for LCR Honda.

The 2019 season finale will take place at Valencia from November 15-17.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Malaysian MotoGP - Race Results
1Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)40m 14.632s
2Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+3.059s
3Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+5.611s
4Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+5.965s
5Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+6.350s
6Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+9.993s
7Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+12.864s
8Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+17.252s
9Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)+19.773s
10Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+22.854s
11Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+24.821s
12Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+30.251s
13Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+30.447s
14Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+34.215s
15Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+34.461s
16Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+44.319s
17Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+47.343s
 Johann ZarcoFRALCR Honda (RC213V)DNF
 Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)DNF
 Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)DNF
By Peter McLaren