Joan Mir wins the MotoGP title with a tense but risk-free seventh place in the penultimate round at Valencia, becoming Suzuki's first grand prix world champion since Kenny Roberts in 2000.

Up front, Morbidelli took his third race victory after a thrilling last-lap showdown with Miller. Espargaro again stood on the podium, Nakagami falling while trying to pass the KTM with 8 laps to go.

Mir began the race with a 37-point lead over Rins and Quartararo, 41-point lead over Vinales and 45-point advantage over Morbidelli and Dovizioso.

But Quartararo ran out of room under braking for Turn 2 on the opening lap and had to take evasive action, dropping to last place. He then fought back up the order, only to drop to 18th again and then crash out. 

Morbidelli is now second in the world championship.

Iker Lecuona hoped to return on Saturday morning after being forced to miss last weekend's round and self-isolate due to a positive Covid test for his brother and assistant, but has also now tested positive. HRC test rider Bradl is replacing injured reigning world champion Marc Marquez, who won't return until 2021.

The 2020 season will conclude with MotoGP's debut event at Portimao next weekend...

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Valencia MotoGP - Race Results
1Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)41m 22.478s
2Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP20)+0.093s
3Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+3.006s
4Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+3.697s
5Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)*+4.127s
6Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+7.272s
7Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+8.703s
8Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP20)+8.729s
9Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+15.512s
10Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+19.043s
11Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP20)+19.456s
12Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+19.717s
13Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+23.802s
14Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+27.430s
15Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP20)+30.570s
16Alex MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)*+30.619s
17Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (GP19)+42.365s
18Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+46.472s
 Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)DNF
 Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)DNF
 Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia (GP19)DNF

* Rookie.

By Peter McLaren