Marc Marquez reurns to the top during final practice for the 2021 Aragon MotoGP, with rookie Enea Bastianini sealing an excellent second place (without a tow).

Despite the warm temperatures, most riders began the 'race-pace' session on the soft rear tyre as they seek to make it last the full distance, with Fabio Quartararo, Valentino Rossi, Jake Dixon and Takaaki Nakagami bucking the trend by starting on the hard rear. Quartararo and Rossi later switched to the soft, Nakagami the medium while Alex Rins went the other way and put the hard. Dixon remained on the hard rear throughout.

The hard compound was the dominant front choice, with the odd medium.

Qualifying 1, for those outside the top ten after third free practice, will now get underway.

After splitting from Yamaha following Austria and missing Silverstone, Maverick Vinales returns to MotoGP action with Aprilia, where he has signed to race until the end of 2022.

Yamaha test rider Cal Crutchlow is replacing Vinales at the Factory Yamaha team for the second event in a row, with Jake Dixon likewise staying at Petronas Yamaha on the injured Franco Morbidelli's 2019 A-spec bike. Dixon was 1.560s from the top in FP4.

Having missed the 2020 rounds through injury, Marc Marquez is seeking his fifth Aragon win in a row at one of his favourite anti-clockwise tracks...

Aragon MotoGP, MotorLand - Free Practice (4) Results
1Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)1'48.116s13/13341k
2Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+0.148s10/12342k
3Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)+0.183s9/16344k
4Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.297s11/14335k
5Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+0.330s8/14341k
6Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.342s12/15342k
7Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+0.376s10/13343k
8Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.381s9/14340k
9Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.398s5/12335k
10Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+0.408s4/13342k
11Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.510s3/17344k
12Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.576s8/14337k
13Cal CrutchlowGBRMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.616s10/14335k
14Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.703s5/13345k
15Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.775s15/15337k
16Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.797s5/14340k
17Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+0.866s4/14339k
18Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+1.032s4/13340k
19Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.043s5/13334k
20Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.070s9/13338k
21Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+1.115s5/12340k
22Jake DixonGBRPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.560s4/13331k

* Rookie

Official Aragon MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 46.635s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Franco Morbidelli ITA Yamaha 1m 48.249s(2020)

By Peter McLaren