Following's Sunday's Valencia season finale, MotoGP teams have travelled to Jerez for a two-day test and the last official track action of 2021.

Marc Marquez is absent as he continues treatment for double-vision problems, while Repsol Honda team-mate Pol Espargaro is back on track after withdrawing from Valencia due to rib pain from a huge Saturday highside.

The main task for the factory riders is to continue development work on their 2022 prototypes, which in the case of Yamaha, Ducati, Suzuki and Honda can feature engine upgrades for the first time since the Covid technical freeze at the start of 2020.

KTM's engine was frozen at the start of 2021, when it left Concessions, while Aprilia has been free to develop this year.

The test marks the debut of the new VR46 Ducati team, plus the heavily revised RNF Yamaha (formerly SRT) and Gresini Ducati (formerly partnered with Aprilia) squads.

After finishing the 2021 season on an A-Spec bike, Andrea Dovizioso has a 2022-spec M1 at RNF, with Darryn Binder on the 2021 model.

All five of next year's rookies are in action, reigning Moto2 champion Remy Gardner and Tech3 team-mate Raul Fernandez making their second appearances on the RC16 after some laps at the Misano test, while Binder (RNF), Fabio di Giannantonio (Gresini) and Marco Bezzecchi (VR46) get their first taste of MotoGP.

Testing began at 10m and concludes at 6pm, with Takaaki Nakagami still fastest from his fourth lap of the day on the old Honda before switching to the 2022. Darryn Binder has climbed above fellow rookies Bezzecchi and di Giannantonio, while Suzuki test rider Sylvain Guintoli joins the action...

2021 Jerez MotoGP Test - Thursday (2pm)
Pos RiderNatTeamTimeLap
1=Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)1m 37.713s4/40
2=Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP)+0.084s22/28
3=Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.097s28/42
4=Maverick VinalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.148s32/46
5=Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.307s46/46
6=Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP)+0.329s34/51
7=Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP)+0.372s6/41
8= Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.419s29/53
9=Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.452s19/27
10^6Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.493s32/36
11˅1Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.494s18/36
12˅1Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.633s6/41
13˅1Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.767s6/45
14˅1Luca MariniITAVR46 Ducati (GP)+0.784s35/41
15˅1Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP)+1.036s22/40
16˅1Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.080s4/47
17^2Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP)+1.202s30/32
18˅1Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)+1.246s20/27
19˅1Mika KallioFINKTM Test Rider (RC16)+1.563s6/37
20=Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Test Rider (RS-GP)+2.121s5/20
21NASylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+2.164s9/15
22˅1Raul FernandezSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+2.477s29/32
23˅1Takuya TsudaJPNSuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+3.223s22/28
24˅1Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+3.685s13/27
25^1Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*+4.036s35/35
26˅1Marco BezzecchiITAVR46 Ducati (GP)*+4.555s28/28
27˅3Fabio di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP)*+4.792s24/26

^X Rider is X positions higher than previous hour.
= Rider is same position as previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than previous hour.

* Rookie

Official Jerez MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 36.584s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 37.770s (2021)

By Peter McLaren