A total of 32 riders will compete for the 2009 World Superbike Championship after the FIM published the official entry list for the new season.

Despite dwindling numbers in MotoGP, the premier Superbike series has gone from strength-to-strength in the past twelve months, attracting two new manufacturer entries whilst maintaining its strong privateer support too.

In all, 32 riders from ten nations will compete on seven different bikes run by a total of nineteen teams, while wild-card entries are expected to bolster entry lists further over the course of the season.

Leading the way is Ducati Xerox, who will defend their 2008 title with Noriyuki Haga, who replaces the retired Troy Bayliss, and Michel Fabrizio, while Yamaha, their closest rivals last year, will enter the new season with the all-rookie line-up of Ben Spies and Tom Sykes.

Honda maintains a three bike offensive for Ryuichi Kiyonari, Carlos Checa and Jonathan Rea, while Suzuki are the only team to retain the same line-up of Max Neukirchner and Yukio Kagayama, albeit minus third rider Fonsi Nieto.

Kawasaki, who will compete under the Kawasaki Superbike Racing Team banner, will have Supersport front runner Broc Parkes joining Makoto Tamada in the team, while newcomers BMW and Aprilia complete extensive factory line-up.

Of the semi-privateer entries, Sterilgarda Ducati are the likely front runners, although they could be matched this year by the expanded Guandalini Racing effort, while Supersport graduates Stiggy Honda are also expected to cause a few upsets.

In all, Ducati will enter seven bikes (Xerox, Sterilgarda, Guandalini, DFX), Honda have supplied eight (Ten Kate, Stiggy, Althea, Pro Ride, Squadra Corse) and Kawasaki will have six bikes on the grid (KSRT, PSG, Pedercini). In addition, Suzuki enter four (Alstare, Celani, TKR) and Yamaha three (Italia, France), while Aprilia and BMW will focus on their two factory bikes.

The full 2009 World Superbike Championship entry list:

41. Noriyuki Haga JPN Ducati Xerox 1098R
84. Michel Fabrizio ITA Ducati Xerox 1098R
19. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Italia YZF R1
66. Tom Sykes GBR Yamaha Italia YZF R1
7. Carlos Checa ESP HANNspree Ten Kate Honda CBR10000RR
65. Jonathan Rea GBR HANNspree Ten Kate Honda CBR10000RR
53. Alessandro Polita ITA Sterilgarda Ducati 1098R
67. Shane Byrne GBR Sterilgarda Ducati 1098R
71. Yukio Kagayama JPN Alstare Suzuki GSX-R 1000K9
76. Max Neukirchner GER Alstare Suzuki GSX-R 1000K9
23. Broc Parkes AUS Kawasaki Superbike Racing Team ZX 10R
100. Makoto Tamada JPN Kawasaki Superbike Racing Team ZX 10R
24. Brendan Roberts AUS Guandalini Racing Ducati 1098R
96. Jakub Smrz CZE Guandalini Racing Ducati 1098R
15. Matteo Baiocco ITA PSG-1 Corse Kawasaki ZX 10R
86. Ayrton Badovini ITA PSG-1 Corse Kawasaki ZX 10R
55. Regis Laconi FRA DFX Corse Ducati 1098R
9. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Ten Kate Honda CBR1000RR
33. Tommy Hill GBR HANNspree Althea Honda CBR1000RR
94. David Checa ESP Yamaha France GMT 94 Ipone YZF R1
25. David Salom ESP Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX 10R
99. Luca Scassa ITA Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX 10R
36. Gregorio Lavilla ESP Pro Ride Honda CBR10000RR
3. Max Biaggi ITA Aprilia Racing RSV-4
56. Shinya Nakano JPN Aprilia Racing RSV-4
11. Troy Corser AUS BMW Motorrad Team Alpha Racing S1000RR
111. Ruben Xaus ESP BMW Motorrad Team Alpha Racing S1000RR
31. Karl Muggeridge AUS Celani Race Suzuki GSX-R 1000K9
77. Vittorio Ianuzzo ITA Squadra Corse Italia Honda CBR1000RR
44. Roberto Rolfo ITA Stiggy Motorsport Honda CBR1000RR
91. Leon Haslam GBR Stiggy Motorsport Honda CBR1000RR
88. Roland Resch AUT TKR Suzuki Switzerland GSX-R 1000K9