Toprak Razgatlioglu has claimed a dominant opening WorldSBK race victory at San Juan after leading every lap.

Drama to race one began immediately as Scott Redding crashed on the exit of turn one. The Ducati rider came under pressure from Jonathan Rea after already losing first to Razgatlioglu. 

The crash for Redding was as a result of losing the rear, while Alvaro Bautista and Isaac Vinales also fell at the conclusion of lap two. 

At the front, Razgatlioglu was setting a stunning pace, a pace that Rea had no answer for as the gap increased to nearly two seconds by the end of lap three. 

Behind the championship contenders was Axel Bassani who got ahead of Alex Lowes on lap four. 

Razgatlioglu’s lead stabilised around the two second margin, a gap that was similar from Rea to Bassani in third.

The man on the move was Redding who was picking off riders at the back with ease. The Ducati rider was up to 14th with 11 laps to go following his early crash.

Rinaldi, who was running fifth, managed to get ahead of Lowes for fourth, before making that third just a few corners later.

While Redding made his way past Davies and into 12th, the gap between Razgatlioglu and Rea was up to 4.5 seconds with six laps to go.

Redding then picked off Samuele Cavalieri and Eugene Laverty in a matter of corners to move into tenth.

Final position changes saw Redding claim ninth off of Leon Haslam, while Lowes managed to secure fourth after a late move on Bassani. 

World Superbike San Juan, Argentina - Race Results (1)
1Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha21 Laps
2Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team+5.295s
3Michael RinaldiITAAruba.It Ducati+9.417s
4Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team+12.808s
5Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+13.980s
6Michael Van Der MarkNEDMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+15.007s
7Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha+16.867s
8Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha+19.265s
9Scott ReddingGBRAruba.It Ducati+27.176s
10Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRC+31.571s
11Tito RabatITAKawasaki Puccetti+34.474s
12Eugene LavertyIRLMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+36.241s
13Chaz DaviesGBRGoEleven Ducati+37.072s
14Samuele CavalieriSPABarni Ducati+41.103s
15Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha+43.220s
16Leandro MercadoARGMIE Honda Racing+48.516s
17Christophe PonssonFRAGil Yamaha+53.695s
18Marco SolorzaARGPedercini Kawasaki+1'39.426s
19Luciano RibodinoARGPedercini Kawasaki+1 Lap
20Isaac VinalesSPAOrelac Racing KawasakiDNF
21Alvaro BautistaSPATeam HRCDNF