Video: Who holds the lap record for each circuit on the F1 2021 calendar?

Formula 1 heads to a record 23 different venues for the 2021 season. In our latest F1 video, we take a look at which drivers hold the lap record for each of the circuits that will feature on this year’s calendar.
Video: Who holds the lap record for each circuit on the F1 2021 calendar?

A lap record for a particular circuit is the fastest time ever recorded in a Formula 1 grand prix. 

For a lap record to stand, it must be set during the race, it must be posted during the grand prix, not in practice or qualifying - these tended to be noted as ‘circuit record’.

While there is no special accolade for setting a lap record, your name is likely to be written in the F1 history for some time.

Only recently, F1 has started to hand out a single championship points for drivers who set the fastest lap in a grand prix, provided they finish inside of the top ten - it doesn’t necessarily have to be a lap record, however. 

Due to the introduction of high downforce, wider cars at the start of 2017, the majority of lap records are from the past three seasons.

In our latest video, we take a look at which drivers hold the lap record for each of the 23 circuits on the 2021 F1 calendar.

Remote video URL

Lap record holders in F1

As to be expected given its dominance since 2014, Mercedes duo Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas dominate the lap record list.

Charles Leclerc, Sebastian Vettel and Max Verstappen also feature throughout.

Michael Schumacher still holds the lap record for Albert Park in Melbourne from 2004, while Ferrari teammate Rubens Barrichello has the lap record for Monza.

List in full:

2021 F1 Calendar - Lap Records
RoundCircuitGPDriver / YearTime
1Bahrain International CircuitBahrain GPPedro de la Rosa (McLaren, 2005) 1m31.447s
2Autodromo Enzo e Dino FerrariEmilia-Romagna GPLewis Hamilton (Mercedes, 2020)1m15.484s
3Algarve International CircuitPortugese GPLewis Hamilton (Mercedes, 2020)1m18.750s
4Circuit de Barcelona-CatalunyaSpanish GPValtteri Bottas (Mercedes, 2020)1m18.183s
5Circuit de MonacoMonaco GPMax Verstappen (Red Bull, 2018)1m14.260s
6Baku City CircuitAzerbaijan GPCharles Leclerc (Ferrari, 2019)1m43.009s
7Circuit Gilles VilleneuveCanadian GPValtteri Bottas (Mercedes, 2019)1m13.078s
8Circuit Paul RicardFrench GPSebastian Vettel (Ferrari, 2019)1m32.740s
9Red Bull RingAustrian GPCarlos Sainz Jr. (McLaren, 2020)1m05.619
10Silverstone CircuitBritish GPMax Verstappen (Red Bull, 2020)1.27.097s
11HungaroringHungarian GPLewis Hamilton (Mercedes, 2020)1m16.627s
12Circuit de Spa-FrancorchampsBelgian GPValtteri Bottas (Mercedes, 2018)1m46.286s
13Circuit ZandvoortDutch GPMike Cantillon (Williams FW07C, 2020)1m31.977s
14Autodromo Nazionale MonzaItalian GPRubens Barrichello (Ferrari, 2004)1m21.046s
15Sochi AutodromRussian GPLewis Hamilton (Mercedes, 2019)1m35.761s
16Marina Bay Street CircuitSingapore GPKevin Magnussen (Singapore, 2018)1m41.905s
17Suzuka CircuitJapanese GPLewis Hamilton (Mercedes, 2019)1m30.983s
18Circuit of the AmericasUnited States GPCharles Leclerc (Ferrari, 2019)1m36.169s
19Autódromo Hermanos RodríguezMexican GPValtteri Bottas (Mercedes, 2018)1m18.741s
20Autódromo José Carlos PaceSao Paulo GPValtteri Bottas (Mercedes, 2018)1m10.540s
21Albert Park CircuitAustralian GPMichael Schumacher (Ferrari, 2004)1m24.125s
22Jeddah Street CircuitSaudi Arabian GPN/AN/A
23Yas Marina CircuitAbu Dhabi Grand PrixLewis Hamilton (Mercedes, 2019)1m39.283s

Read More