Six-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner Jacky Ickx has been appointed the Grand Marshal for this year’s edition of the iconic endurance race set to take place on the 16-17 June.

Ickx sits second on the all-time Le Mans wins list only behind nine-time winner Tom Kristensen with his victories stretching over a 13-year span having also while also being an eight-time Formula 1 Grand Prix winner as well as the 1983 winner of the Dakar Rally.

The iconic Belgian driver will  lead the formation lap at the start of the Le Mans 24 Hours and is honoured to be given the opportunity.

“I’m delighted to be able to take part in the event,” Ickx said. “Le Mans has always been kind to me. I’ve had many good times here, as a driver.

“I’ve also been race director and have been race starter too. This year, I shall be Grand Marshal. This race has always held something special to me, as a driver and as a person. It brings out the fundamental elements of driving.

“It’s about sharing, daring, focusing, friendship and fans. It’s intense and it’s extraordinary. I can see myself already, at the wheel, behind me a field of heroic drivers, amateurs and professionals.” the longest-serving motorsport website in the world

Video Thumbnail: 

President of the Automobile Club de l’Ouest Pierre Fillon has welcomed the appointment and is certain the 86th edition of Le Mans 24 Hours will be a success.

“Everyone knows that Jacky Ickx is a great driver and a great man and he will surely make a great Grand Marshal for the 24 Hours of Le Mans 2018. The 60-car field will be following in illustrious footsteps,” Fillon said.

“With Jacky Ickx leading the way, the race can only be a success. We are particularly proud that he has accepted the role. He is a father-figure in the endurance community.”



Loading Comments...